Author |
Message
|
sushilsingh27 |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 3:21 am Post subject: Using Extended Transactional client |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 05 Nov 2006 Posts: 13
|
Can somebody guide me that can we use Extended Transactional client to update more then two database which are distributed without uisng any transactional manager like CICS etc.
Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 3:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
If not CICS, then AFAIK something needs to be the transactional manager. Managed transactions are slightly tricky without.
Is it your intention to have one of the databases coordination? What platform are they (DB2, Oracle, etc)? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
The Extended Transactional Client requires an external Transaction Coordinator - it can't use the Queue Manager for that AFAIK.
What language is your code supposed to be written in?
You may want to look at federating the databases - or using an ETL tool - rather than writing your own solution to this kind of thing. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sushilsingh27 |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:48 am Post subject: Re: Using Extended Transactional client |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 05 Nov 2006 Posts: 13
|
sushilsingh27 wrote: |
Can somebody guide me that can we use Extended Transactional client to update more then two database which are distributed without uisng any transactional manager like CICS etc.
Thanks in advance. |
Thanks for your feedbacks.
And please advise can we syncronise two database using Extended transactional client. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
What platform? zOS, unix? _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sushilsingh27 |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 05 Nov 2006 Posts: 13
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:04 am Post subject: Re: Using Extended Transactional client |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sushilsingh27 wrote: |
And please advise can we syncronise two database using Extended transactional client. |
Using proper code and an external transaction coordinator yes.
But if that's all you're trying to do, I'd echo the comments of jefflowrey - don't reinvent replication, get it out of a box. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Lets be clear here ... the ETC is NOT involved in "syncronise two database" operation... the ETC only manages the MQ resources, which is why you need a resource co-ordinator like WAS (WebSphere Application Server). _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
wschutz wrote: |
Lets be clear here ... the ETC is NOT involved in "syncronise two database" operation... the ETC only manages the MQ resources, which is why you need a resource co-ordinator like WAS (WebSphere Application Server). |
I apologise if I'd failed to make that clear. It is exactly what I was alluding to.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sushilsingh27 |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 05 Nov 2006 Posts: 13
|
Thanks , but I am still in confusion. can't we use CICS with ETC to syncronise two distributed database or WAS is required . |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I think you can't use ETC on z/OS.
Or are you using CICS on the distributed platform? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
sushilsingh27 wrote: |
Thanks , but I am still in confusion. can't we use CICS with ETC to syncronise two distributed database or WAS is required . |
I suspect you haven't given me a full answer on the platforms involved...what platform is the client application on and what platform is the MQ server on? _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:51 am Post subject: Re: Using Extended Transactional client |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sushilsingh27 wrote: |
Can somebody guide me that can we use Extended Transactional client to update more then two database which are distributed without uisng any transactional manager like CICS etc.
Thanks in advance. |
You said "without using ... CICS" - now I'm confused.
And what wschutz said is still true - ETC only manages MQ resources. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sushilsingh27 |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 6:03 am Post subject: Re: Using Extended Transactional client |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 05 Nov 2006 Posts: 13
|
Sorry for not giving all the details. The details are :
The ETC is on the windows. The MQServer is on the UNIX and one database is on z/os and the other is on UNIX |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 6:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You need to run something as a transactional controller on the Windows machine.
Or you can move your application to the MQServer, and run it in Bindings mode. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|