ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Just want to scan a queue for a particular message - .NET/C#

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Just want to scan a queue for a particular message - .NET/C# « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
chornbe
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:41 am    Post subject: Just want to scan a queue for a particular message - .NET/C# Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 3

So, I have a multi-use queue - I can't apparently get a dedicated queue - don't ask.

I want to just scan the queue and look for messages that I care about.

Working with test code (this is *not* production quality code), I assumed I need to start at the beginning of queue, and browse until I find what I need, get message under cursor and move on with my life.

However, it appears in the following code the cursor never really moves to the next message, or that I'm starting at the *end* of the queue. I get a message, however when moving to the next message, I get "no message available" (RC 2033) errors.

Am I missing something? A nice, simple ".Peek()" function would have been real cool!

Code snippet follows:
Code:

try {
   bool found = false;
   gmo = new MQGetMessageOptions();
   gmo.Options = MQC.MQGMO_ALL_MSGS_AVAILABLE + MQC.MQGMO_BROWSE_FIRST;
   while( !found ){

      queue.Get( queueMessage, gmo   );
      gmo.Options = MQC.MQGMO_ALL_MSGS_AVAILABLE + MQC.MQGMO_BROWSE_NEXT;
      Console.WriteLine( queueMessage.ReadString( queueMessage.MessageLength) );

      // select message and set found=true...

   }

} catch (MQException MQExp) {
   // report the error
   System.Console.WriteLine( "MQQueue::Get   ended with " + MQExp.Message +
   MQExp.Reason + MQExp.ReasonCode + MQExp.Source );
}



Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You need to reset the MQMD MsgId and CorrelId after each get.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You need to reset the MQMD MsgId and CorrelId after each get.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chornbe
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 3

uh... forgive my ignorance. How? (I'm used to writing for MSMQ, so bear with me )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

I dunno how to do it in .NET - maybe just make a new queueMessage every time through.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Why not just add MQC.MQMO_NONE to the gmo.MatchOptions?
_________________
-wayne


Last edited by wschutz on Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
chornbe
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 3

jefflowrey wrote:
I dunno how to do it in .NET - maybe just make a new queueMessage every time through.


Bingo! Thanks much. That did it. Here's what worked:

Code:

try {
   bool found = false;
   gmo.Options = MQC.MQGMO_ALL_MSGS_AVAILABLE + MQC.MQGMO_BROWSE_FIRST;
   gmo.MatchOptions = MQC.MQMO_MATCH_CORREL_ID + MQC.MQMO_MATCH_MSG_ID;
   while( !found ){

      queue.Get( queueMessage, gmo );
      Console.WriteLine( queueMessage.ReadString( queueMessage.MessageLength) );

      queueMessage = new MQMessage();
      queueMessage.Format = MQC.MQFMT_STRING;
      gmo = new MQGetMessageOptions();
      gmo.Options = MQC.MQGMO_ALL_MSGS_AVAILABLE + MQC.MQGMO_BROWSE_NEXT;

      // select message and set found=true...

   }

} catch (MQException MQExp) {
   // report the error
   System.Console.WriteLine( "MQQueue::Get   ended with " + MQExp.Message +
      MQExp.Reason + MQExp.ReasonCode + MQExp.Source );
}




Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tleichen
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:44 am    Post subject: Re: Just want to scan a queue for a particular message - .NE Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 663
Location: Center of the USA

chornbe wrote:
So, I have a multi-use queue - I can't apparently get a dedicated queue - don't ask.

I'm asking anyway.... why are you (or someone else) trying to complicate the problem by going against the grain with how this product was designed to function? That is the question you should be confronting your administrators and your management with whenever they try pushing you into sharing queues between various applications. The added programming and potential problems involved with sharing a queue between various applications is simply not worth it! (IMHO)

btw, is this a client or server app, and what platform is the queue manager on?
_________________
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
IBM Certified MQSeries Developer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

If you're trying to loop through a queue, you'll find it faster & more resource efficient to use wschutz suggestion of replacing MQC.MQMO_MATCH etc with MQC.MQMO_NONE. This will allow you to reuse the same Message object by preventing matching.

But if it works and you're happy (and resource isn't a consideration) leave it!

(It is better to have a dedicated queue though. Saves a fortune in resource because apps don't have to do all this "hunt the message" stuff, amongst other benefits. Challenge the decision & demand your own queue - you deserve it!)
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Just want to scan a queue for a particular message - .NET/C#
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.