ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Using cobol copybook with 2-dimensional table

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Using cobol copybook with 2-dimensional table « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
PieterV
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 4:03 am    Post subject: Using cobol copybook with 2-dimensional table Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 164
Location: Belgium

I'm trying to use the following copybook that contains a two dimensional table to create a message definition:

Code:

01 BERICHT.
    02 REC2 OCCURS 3 TIMES.
         03 REC2-1  PIC X(80).
         03 REC2-2  PIC X(80).
         03 REC3 OCCURS 3 TIMES.
              04 REC3-1 PIC X(80).
              04 REC3-1 PIC X(80).



this gives the following error after the message definition is created:

Code:

Element declaration 'REC3_1' has parent content model <sequence>, which prohibits duplicates with different types.


Anybody an idea what to do with this?

Or can't the Message Broker handle messages with 2 dimensional tables?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimbert
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 5542
Location: Southampton

The 2-dimensional tables are not the problem. This is:
Code:
              04 REC3-1 PIC X(80).
              04 REC3-1 PIC X(80).
Note that you have two elements named 'REC3-1' in the same structure. The error message says this is not allowed unless they have the same type. In your copybook, they are both 'PIC X(80)', but the COBOL importer probably created a local type definition for each field, triggering this error.
The simple solution is to rename the second one to 'REC3-2'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PieterV
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 164
Location: Belgium

hmmm

you are right...

this is a very embarishing fault...


can this topic be deleted so nobody ever reads this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

PieterV wrote:


can this topic be deleted so nobody ever reads this?


It should be left as a reminder to other victims of the blind spot that:

"we are not alone"

There are more embarishing faults than this my friend. Trust me.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Using cobol copybook with 2-dimensional table
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.