Author |
Message
|
vmurali_au |
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 10:38 am Post subject: WAS 6.0 Default Messaging Provider - JMS Message Truncated |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 Posts: 76
|
Using a MQ Client application, I'm sending a JMS Object Message (with serializable fields) to a remote definition queue "QR" in Queue Manager "QM1". I'm using "FSContext" JNDI to locate the queue and send the JMS message.
In the WAS 6.0 i've defined the Websphere MQ links, Foreign Bus etc. The Remote Queue definition "QR" in "QM1" points to a destination "dest1" in the Service Integration Bus (SIB).
I've also defined the JMS Activation Specification on the destination "dest1" and using that activation settings a Message Driven Bean (MDB) listens to the JMS object message.
The problem is the MDB is able to receive messages, but not the full message. I'm getting the error during deserializing the object in MDB. I've checked the message in the destination "dest1" in WAS using Admin Console. There is only the truncated message.
Instead, when i use a servlet to post the MQ message directly to the destination "dest1" i'm getting the full message in MDB.
But as in the original setup when the message is sent via Websphere MQ link to WAS, it gets truncated.
I've also tried JMS TextMessage instead of ObjectMessage still the message is getting truncated.
Any help on the above problem will be really appreciated.
Thanks.
P.S
I'm using WAS 6.0.0.0 test environment available in RAD 6.0 for the above testing |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Looks like you will need to run some tests here.
- Make sure there is no channel exits on any of the sender/receiver channels
- Set your MQ Queue to be local.
Can you deserialize correctly
- Have your MQQueue be remote again
but change the persistancy of the message
Does it affect message size and or deserialization?
- Raise PMR ?
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vmurali_au |
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 6:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 Posts: 76
|
Thanks.
I've tried changing the MQ Queue to be local and tried to deserialize the message. I'm getting the full message here. No problems.
When my message goes via the Websphere MQ Link to WAS then only the truncation happens. I viewed the message in the Queue in the SIB in WAS and found only the truncated message. So there is no problem with my MDB.
I dont know how the persistency of the message will affect the truncation.
Also, i havent raised a PMR. I want to make sure i'm not doing anything wrong on my side first before raising the PMR. The WAS 6.0 i'm using is the Integrated Test Environment available in RAD 6.0. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
What happens when you send an object message between two MQ queue managers?
I.e. - try to isolate the problem to the MQ Bridge itself.
Also, is it possible that your full message is larger than 4Mb? If so, you might be seeing truncation occur because of the client channel. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vmurali_au |
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 Posts: 76
|
I tried both ObjectMessage and TextMessages. Both are having the truncation problem.
My serialized message is not more than 4MB. It contains just some JavaBean object. When i tried the local Queue approach i didnt get a message over 4MB.
Also I wrote a servlet and tried putting the Object message directly in the Queue in the SIB (without using Websphere MQ link). Now i got the full message. So there is no problem with the maximum message size setting in the SIB Queue. So my assumption is by some how when the message goes through the Websphere MQ link it is getting truncated.
Are there any specific settings that should be made in the Websphere MQ link? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:27 am Post subject: Re: WAS 6.0 Default Messaging Provider - JMS Message Truncat |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
vmurali_au wrote: |
I'm using WAS 6.0.0.0 test environment available in RAD 6.0 for the above testing |
Any chance you could use newer code: my understanding is that there have been some important updates since 6.0.0.0. I could be wrong, though.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|