Author |
Message
|
mrdjh |
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 3:56 am Post subject: MQ Dependencies for Java API |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 07 Jul 2006 Posts: 2
|
Hi,
I have a Java web-service which depends upon an adapter that uses MQ, which in turn depends upon the com.ibm.mq.jar & connector.jar libraries. However, this web-service now needs to be relocated from a Windows machine with the full MQ Client install, to a Unix machine where limited privileges are available (& so preferably I would only seek to copy across the required MQ jar libraries).
If I copy the two above-mentioned files over and put them in the classpath, are there any files on which they depend, which I would also need to copy over?
Since we rely on a third-party adapter for MQ interaction, my knowledge of MQ is limited, so any help on the matter would be appreciated |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrdjh |
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 07 Jul 2006 Posts: 2
|
Apologies, I should've put this in the Websphere MQ Java forum |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
xxx |
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 13 Oct 2003 Posts: 137
|
why don't you ask your admins to install the MQ client for you and then you can just update the classpath ?
I am not sure how this adapter works , but in normal cases MQ client will connect to a MQServer , and just copying the two java jar's will not work as per my understanding .
We need to set the MQEnvironment variable etc and I believe it needs the full install of the client! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Not quite. If you are only using the java client, all jars in the <mqinstall>/java/lib path are needed and you might want to add the soap kit in <mqinstall>/java/lib/soap
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 3:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You don't need all the jars on ../java/lib.
I've established a successfull client connection with about three jars - and that was v5.3. For v6, you should only need the two jars mentioned and maybe providerutil.jar.
Assuming you aren't using Soap, JMS, or a other such things that will require more of the jars.
This doesn't mean you will have a supported configuration, though. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
You don't need all the jars on ../java/lib.
I've established a successfull client connection with about three jars - and that was v5.3. For v6, you should only need the two jars mentioned and maybe providerutil.jar.
Assuming you aren't using Soap, JMS, or a other such things that will require more of the jars.
This doesn't mean you will have a supported configuration, though. |
I thought that with all of the jars on the classpath you did have a supported java client configuration. (Yes you might cut the one or other out especially if it is provided by WAS or some other app server etc...). But talking about stand alone java programming (java base, jms and even soap over jms) having all the jars + soap directory should give you a good (supported) base for a client connection.
 _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 4:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I doubt that it will be officially supported to redistribute only part of a supported package.
And licensed is a whole different question - and I have substantially less doubts about that. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 7:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
we typically distribute MQ Java apps with just the minimum jars, and have never not gotten support. The JMS trace command works with just the jars, for example.....
then again, I don't remember ever saying in the PMR specifically that we only have the jars and not the whole client, but on the flip side, IBM never asks either. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 10:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I bet you have a lot of fun when you try and upgrade the MQ level of all those MQ java apps. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 10:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
same amount of fun to upgrade a client machine with the full MQClient install versus just a couple of jars. Actually, its a LOT easier to get a client to a newer version of MQ Client if all I have to do is email them a couple of jars...... _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 11:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Thanks Peter for making my point.
The only downside I can think of is that if you use the jars only distribution of the java client you might get a conversion not supported JMSException upon trying to retrieve a TextMessage in CCSID 500 on a Unix machine.... But then I never double checked to make sure that the message had MQSTR in its format field....
You might also have trouble communicating with a very old version of MQ (5.00) using JMS....(Don't worry that one's being phased out as quick as we can (business allowing) and I don't think JMS was supported back then...)
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|