Author |
Message
|
kolban |
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2001 3:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 22 May 2001 Posts: 1072 Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
|
Okay, new request
When posting new or replying to topics, I find that the Message Body: area seems to be fixed width (just counted 45 characters). I would very much like to see this area the full width of the web page and resize as I resize the browser. This little text input area is starting to annoy me. Since the postings themselves reflow with HTML formatting, having the input area wider should not hurt.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2001 10:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
That's actually a good suggestion. I'll look into making it take up the width of the table that contains it. The table itself resizes depending on the browser...
_________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2001 1:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Neil,
I just realized why I didn't make the text input area larger to begin with. It turns out that this is a restriction of the HTML textarea tag. You can only specify the dimensions of the textarea object in terms of rows and columns (measured in characters). This means the size of the textarea is static. It does not resize as you resize your browser window. Now, I could just increase the width to say 60 or even 80 columns. I tested this out and it looked fine on my system. Unfortunately, for those among us who still use 640x480 screen resolution (shame on you! just kidding - some people have legitimate sight restrictions) and 45 columns as you noticed is the largest textarea I can specify and still have it (and the table that contains it) within the area of the screen. If I were to make it bigger than this, browsers running at 640x480 won't be able to shrink the page to fit within the width, and the user will have to scroll left and right. Now I know how irratating that can be, so I don't really know what to do about this. Either I anger those who are still running at 800x600 or below, or I try to figure out if there is some alternative - maybe some type of javascript textarea object that resizes or something.. I dunno...
_________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kolban |
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2001 3:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 22 May 2001 Posts: 1072 Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
|
Wow ... that last posting of yours with the textarea tag really messed up the topic
That in itself scares me ... hmmm wonder what kind of strange HTML I can inject into postings ... load ActiveX controls, javascript etc etc ...
Its pretty easy in JavaScript to ask the dimenions of the screen in which the browser runs, based on this, you could inject a textarea appropriate to the size of the screen. Let me know if I can assist with this. I'd need a copy of the template HTML that is currently in place. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2001 9:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Whoops... It seems I added some angle brackets around the word "textarea" and didn't realize I composed an HTML tag. Of course, I neglected to add a corresponding closing tag so it screwed up my posting. It turns out I'm not actually parsing the messages for "correct" HTML (as if any sites have that these days) simply rendering whatever the user provides. I will take a look in a few javascript books I have and see if I can track this trick down. If not, I'll definitely email you a copy of the PHP code that generates the HTML in question...
_________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2001 4:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Ok Neil - I give up. I tried and tried to track down the elusive javascript code that will dynamically resize the form elements, and while I have found some examples they all seem to come with a caveat... Some work on IE and not Netscape, or vice-versa, others require the user click "reload" after resizing (kinda defeats the purpose), others resize automatically but don't seem to stay within the confines of the window. It will shrink yes, just not at the same rate I am shrinking the window! So at this point, I'm ready to listen to any suggestions about how to make this work....
_________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kolban |
Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2001 6:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 22 May 2001 Posts: 1072 Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
|
Could you make available a piece of HTML that, if it were dynamic on both IE and Netscape, could be inserted into the phpBB? This will then allow us to go find a solution. I would first look at it and toy with it with the assistance of an MSDN set of docs. Two nanoseconds later when I couldn't get it to run, I'd post to the HTML newsgroups on Usenet  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|