ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » JavaCompute Node and MQ

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 JavaCompute Node and MQ « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
wbintegrator
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 3:40 am    Post subject: JavaCompute Node and MQ Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 83

HI everyone,

I have a flow that uses several MQGet nodes and puts the obtained messages into the Environment. Another Flow is triggered after that, which merges those messages.

Just wanted to ask if it's possible to perform MQ commands from the javaCompute Node. Performing several MQGets in code should be faster and more efficient, I think.

Has anyone tried to do something similiar?

thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

It really sounds like you want to use aggregation instead.

I'm also confused by how you are moving Environment data from one FLOW to another, as there's no way to do this natively in WMB v6.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wbintegrator
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 83

Quote:
It really sounds like you want to use aggregation instead.

Thanks for the tip, I'll check out how agragation works, we have never used it before.

As for the environment, you're absolutely right. The flow I talked about has been designed but not deployed yet. I would certainly come across that fact later, so thanks for saving my time.

Anyway, back to the JavaCompute, is it possible to use MQ commands from there?

Thanks again, jefflowrey.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vennela
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

Quote:
Anyway, back to the JavaCompute, is it possible to use MQ commands from there?

Maybe, but what are you really trying to do is the question.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
wbintegrator
PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 83

I want to get messages from a queue in a loop, and later I might also consider putting messages in a loop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wbintegrator
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 83

Just in case anyone is interested in the issue, u CAN put/get messages form JavaCompute node, actually do almost anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

I would think that while you can do your own MQ inside a JCN, you'd have to establish your own connection to the qmgr, which means that your units-of-work aren't co-ordinated with the broker's.
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
vennela
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

Isn't putting messages using propagate a better way of doing this?
I have done something similar to this using JCN using propagate in a while loop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
madi
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 475

so does this mean it is possible to get more than one message from a queue using MQGet node??

--madi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

madi wrote:
so does this mean it is possible to get more than one message from a queue using MQGet node??


Depends on what you mean by "possible". Yes, it is possible.

But you have to put the node in a flow loop to do so.

So, for example, you have to connect the out terminal of the MQGet node (or some downstream out terminal) back to the in terminal of the MQGet node (or some upstream in terminal).
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madi
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 475

yeah, that is what i had in mind (mqget in a loop)

which is better ...... doing this in a loop or just doing multiple mqgets in a java compute node??

also can this be done in an aggregation node ....... i have never used this node before

--madi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Which is better? It depends.

You can't directly configure Aggregation to read multiple messages from a queue.

You can wire MQGet in a loop, and have each message produced from that MQGet sent off as a request to a process that merely replies with the full request, and use aggregation to assemble those messags into one unit.

But this is very complicated, and uses a lot of queue puts and gets. So I'm not entirely sure it makes sense. It might, in some cases.

You can, however, wire the MQGet in a loop and have a compute node after the Get that makes sure that the MQGet node doesn't overwrite the output of the last run.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wbintegrator
PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 83

Talking about aggregation... Is there a possibility to use timeout in aggreagation, say tell it somehow to wait x secs, and merge whatever has been returned in that time as a final reply?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbanoop
PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Posts: 401
Location: SC

aggregation works on the priciple of fan-out/fan-in. The behaviour of aggregate functionality is that it waits for a specified period (set on the aggr reply node) or until all the fanned out threads come back (which ever is earlier). If not all the fanned out paths return, it timesout and comes out on the timeout terminal.
Regards,
Anoop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
wschutz
PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Reply timeout is set in the control node:

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmbhelp/v6r0m0/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/ac12320_.htm

The timeout in the reply node is for "unexpected" messages.

If you need different reply timeouts, you can use multiple control nodes wired in parallel.
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » JavaCompute Node and MQ
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.