|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
How to put and get decimal(packed decimal) data in MQ Series |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
anilupadhyay |
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 10:16 pm Post subject: How to put and get decimal(packed decimal) data in MQ Series |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 28 May 2006 Posts: 1
|
Hello Everyone!
I have installed MQSeries (Web Sphere MQ) Version:5.3 and also installed MQWindows client for .Net application version:1.0.0.3
Through .net application I am trying to send data, which consists of different data type say Integer, String, Decimal value.
I am trying to write data as decimal using the MQMessage object's method "WriteDecimal8". But the input parameter for this method is Long. So the question arises, how long can hold decimal value?
For example if we want to send 89567849.75 then how can we send using the method "WriteDecimal8"?
From the above code testing, our objective is to communicate .net application with Mainframe application where we want to transfer different type of data
1. so our question is how can we send decimal data to mainframe and same how .net application will retrieve decimal data from mainframe?
2. Do we require any kind of conversion?
3. Why does the method "WriteDecimal8" accept long as input, because its name indicates as decimal and it accept only Long data type? Why?
Please help me…
Thank you
With Regards
Anil Upadhyay
Bombay, India. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 11:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
our objective is to communicate .net application with Mainframe application where we want to transfer different type of data |
In which case, you would be better "translating" the data into some form of character data, like XML. Any data other than character will not be translated between code pages and/or encoding methods between differing systems, unless you write your own conversion exit.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 3:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
My advice:
Import the COBOL copy book into the message set as CWF and
- set the correct options for the compiler during the import:
i.e. the platform the broker runs on, not the platform the copy book was created on.
- set the correct options for numbers during the import. This will be the mainframe's way of presenting the data
- When sending the data make sure the format is set to MQ_NONE
The broker will use the Custom Wire Format and create the right types for you. You can then map to and from that type.
Enjoy
_________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 10:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
Import the COBOL copy book into the message set as CWF |
Always assuming that the OP is using a Message Broker.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|