ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » How to put and get decimal(packed decimal) data in MQ Series

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 How to put and get decimal(packed decimal) data in MQ Series « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
anilupadhyay
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 10:16 pm    Post subject: How to put and get decimal(packed decimal) data in MQ Series Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 28 May 2006
Posts: 1

Hello Everyone!

I have installed MQSeries (Web Sphere MQ) Version:5.3 and also installed MQWindows client for .Net application version:1.0.0.3

Through .net application I am trying to send data, which consists of different data type say Integer, String, Decimal value.

I am trying to write data as decimal using the MQMessage object's method "WriteDecimal8". But the input parameter for this method is Long. So the question arises, how long can hold decimal value?

For example if we want to send 89567849.75 then how can we send using the method "WriteDecimal8"?

From the above code testing, our objective is to communicate .net application with Mainframe application where we want to transfer different type of data

1. so our question is how can we send decimal data to mainframe and same how .net application will retrieve decimal data from mainframe?

2. Do we require any kind of conversion?

3. Why does the method "WriteDecimal8" accept long as input, because its name indicates as decimal and it accept only Long data type? Why?

Please help me…

Thank you

With Regards
Anil Upadhyay
Bombay, India.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
EddieA
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

Quote:
our objective is to communicate .net application with Mainframe application where we want to transfer different type of data

In which case, you would be better "translating" the data into some form of character data, like XML. Any data other than character will not be translated between code pages and/or encoding methods between differing systems, unless you write your own conversion exit.

Cheers,
_________________
Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2006 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

My advice:
Import the COBOL copy book into the message set as CWF and
  1. set the correct options for the compiler during the import:
    i.e. the platform the broker runs on, not the platform the copy book was created on.
  2. set the correct options for numbers during the import. This will be the mainframe's way of presenting the data
  3. When sending the data make sure the format is set to MQ_NONE
    The broker will use the Custom Wire Format and create the right types for you. You can then map to and from that type.
    Enjoy

_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EddieA
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2006 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

Quote:
Import the COBOL copy book into the message set as CWF

Always assuming that the OP is using a Message Broker.

Cheers,
_________________
Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » How to put and get decimal(packed decimal) data in MQ Series
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.