Author |
Message
|
DELLIPIZ |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 11:17 am Post subject: Copying a specific message off a queue |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 70
|
Hi Everyone,
I need to be able to pull a specific message off of a queue and load it to another queue.
I know about CSQUTIL to do a COPY and then a LOAD, but this is copying all the messages off the queue and I need to be able to copy specific messages.
I was even hoping that I would be able to edit the output data from the CSQUTIL COPY, but I guess we can't do that.
Does anyone know of a utility that will allow me to do that? For example, I need something that allows me to copy message 5 from queue1 and copy it to queue2.
Thanks!
-Lori |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 11:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
If you know the messageID or correlID, you can use the zOS version of the 'q' program (supportpac ma01) to move a specific message from one queue to another. _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 11:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
You could do this easily using the RFHUTIL/C utility, but since you referenced CSQUTIL, I'm not sure if RFHUTIL/C can access z/OS queues. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DELLIPIZ |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 11:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 70
|
Hi,
Yes, I will know the messageid, but is that program something that can be run via JCL on MVS.
Thanks!
-Lori |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
Lori
I could be wrong but I think you are going to have to write your own code for this.
What is important about the message? Do you have any control other the queue it is ending up in? What I am driving at is why not just put it into a seperate queue from the get go? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DELLIPIZ |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 12:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 70
|
Hi Kevin,
This is for our reprocessing logic. Queue1 contains messages that failed. Queues2 is an input queue for our reprocessing logic. I only want to reprocess certain messages. So I need a utility that allows me to specify which message I want to move from Queue1 to Queue2.
Does that make sense? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 12:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
wschutz wrote: |
you can use the zOS version of the 'q' program (supportpac ma01) to move a specific message from one queue to another. |
_________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 3:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Code: |
[wschutz@wschutz zOS]$ ll
total 1168
-rwxr-xr-x 1 wschutz wschutz 418 Nov 20 17:18 q.jcl
-rwxr-xr-x 1 wschutz wschutz 1169600 Nov 12 2005 q.seq
[wschutz@wschutz zOS]$ cat q.jcl
//JOBLIB DD DSN=HUGHSON.Q.LOAD,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=MQLIB.SCSQAUTH,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=MQLIB.SCSQANLE,DISP=SHR
//********************************************************************
//* Example of how to pass parms to Q in Batch *
//********************************************************************
//Q EXEC PGM=Q,PARM=('-mMQ23 -oQ1 -ap -M"Message0" -v5 -dh')
//
|
_________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 3:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
wschutz wrote: |
JOBLIB DD DSN=HUGHSON.Q.LOAD,DISP=SHR |
 _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 5:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
I guess it is time for me to review the support packs again. I didn't realise the M071 was supported on z/OS now. Great news. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DELLIPIZ |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 9:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 70
|
Hi,
So if I want to take a copy of a message with correl id 20060503085624418793GCS off of queue 1 (Q1) on queue manager (QM) and put it to queue 2 (Q2), would this be correct?
//Q EXEC PGM=Q,PARM=('-mQM -iQ1 -oQ2
-gc20060503085624418793GCS ')
Also, can I do it by message number in the queue? So if I want to take a copy of message #5 from queue 1 (Q1) on queue manager (QM) and put it to queue 2 (Q2), is there anyway to do that? If so, what would my PARM look like?
As always, thanks!
-Lori |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 11:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
//Q EXEC PGM=Q,PARM=('-mQM -iQ1 -oQ2
-gc20060503085624418793GCS ') |
The "space" at the end might be a problem. You may have to use the hex version.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DELLIPIZ |
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 4:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 70
|
Hi,
So you think the following should do it?
//Q EXEC PGM=Q,PARM=('-mQM -iQ1 -oQ2
-gxcF2F0F0F6F0F5F0F3F0F8F5F6F2F4F4F1F8F7F9F3C7C3E240')
Also, is there a way for me to copy multiple messages? Meaning if I want to send over messages with either correlation id:
F2F0F0F6F0F5F0F3F0F8F5F6F2F4F4F1F8F7F9F3C7C3E240
and
F2F0F0F6F0F5F0F3F0F8F5F6F2F4F4F1F8F7F9F3C7C3E2E2 ???
Thanks!
-Lori |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 6:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
To do that, I think you need to run "q" twice.... _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DELLIPIZ |
Posted: Wed May 17, 2006 12:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 70
|
Hi,
I'm liking this utility so far.
However, sometimes in my JCL, I get the following message:
EXCESSIVE PARAMETER LENGTH IN THE PARM FIELD
Any idea what the max can be?
Thanks!
-Lori |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|