Author |
Message
|
Heikki |
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:31 am Post subject: Creating MQRFH2 header in PL/1 |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 5
|
Hi,
I have done some mq-programming before, but never used the MQRFH2 header. Now we have a request from our AIX group that the messages delivered from the mainframe should include a MQRFH2 header. I've looked in to the programming guide and the reference gudie, but can not find any good explanation or examples on how to do this in PL/1 (cobol is allso an option).
Anyone who can enlighten me on this, or have a link to some example?
Best Regards,
Heikki Elenius |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Look at the new support pack for RFH headers in C (JMX ?)
Check if you can use the C libraries as it will save you tons of grief.
Otherwise the best bet is using JMS.
Anything else : "Hello pain"
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Heikki |
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 5
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
Look at the new support pack for RFH headers in C (JMX ?)
Check if you can use the C libraries as it will save you tons of grief.
Otherwise the best bet is using JMS.
Anything else : "Hello pain"
Enjoy  |
I'm afraid that C is out of the question due to company standards, and due to my lack of skills in that language, and JMX/JMS is something that I'm totally unfamilliar with.
The goal is to make this in
A) PL/1 (company standard mf language)
B) COBOL (allmost standard)
C) Assembler (my standard )
So I'll guess it's gonna be "hello pain"
Somewhere out there, someone must have done this before?
Regards,
Heikki |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 12:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 1:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Are you using Java on zOS?
If yes look into the JMS classes for MQ
Read up on JMS (see java.sun.com)
and use it. You will go so much faster...
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 1:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
Now we have a request from our AIX group that the messages delivered from the mainframe should include a MQRFH2 header |
First question you should ask: Why. Depending on their answer you may not even need the RFH2.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Heikki |
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 1:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 5
|
Nope. No Java installed in the box, have to live with pl/1, cobol or assembler. Banging my head on this one, will have to talk to the AIX people and talk them into some other sollution. As usual, they allready developed the clientside application without checking with the mainframeguys to see what we can deliver.
Heikki
EDITED: Eddie, yes will have a talk with them asap to try to straighten things out. But anyway, seems strange that there is so little documentation on this for the mainframe. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Not that strange as it is mainly used in pub/sub JMS.
That is why you have a java zOS version for ! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Heikki |
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 4:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 5
|
Yes, but still think it strange that there's no samples on a supported function in any of the most common languages on mainframe (COBOL and PL/1). After all, the structure is available both in COBOL and PL/1, but no (good) explanation on how to use it.
Regards,
Heikki |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cliff |
Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 6:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 145 Location: Wiltshire
|
Hekki,
if you still need some help with RFH2 and PL/1 drop me a line and I'll send you some code. No great secrets here - just some care needed handling lengths and padding.
Always happy to help with PL/1 -
kind regards,
Cliff |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2005 6:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
Hi Cliff,
If you have PLI / MQ / RFH2 code that you want to share with the world then email me a copy. I will post it to my web site and make a note that you are the author.
Regards,
Roger Lacroix _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Heikki |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 11:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 5
|
Cliff,
Yes, I would appreciate i you could send me an example.
Regards,
Heikki |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DELLIPIZ |
Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 11:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 70
|
Hi Heikki,
Did you ever get the PL1 code you were looking for? I could really use that now.
Thanks!
-Lori |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|