ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Client Connection using imqsputc

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Client Connection using imqsputc « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
pratima_09
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 1:15 pm    Post subject: Client Connection using imqsputc Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 13

Hi,

I am a newbie to MQSeries. I am trying to connect to a remote queue manager ( a queue manager on a different UNIX box) using imqsputc.

But, it fails with a reason code 2059.

I have made sure that the queuemanager is running and the corresponding queue is created on this remote box. So I am not exactly sure why it is failing.

This is how i am executing:
imqsputc LOGIN.QU MY_QM SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN/tcp/130.151.253.160

Please help!

Thanks in advance
Pratima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 8:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Client Connection using imqsputc Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

pratima_09 wrote:
Hi,
This is how i am executing:
imqsputc LOGIN.QU MY_QM SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN/tcp/130.151.253.160

Please help!

Thanks in advance
Pratima


Well you need to change that a little.
The correct syntax would be (note on Wintel replace export with set)
Code:
export MQServer='<channel name(svrconn type)>/TCP/host(port)'
export MQServer='SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN/TCT/130.151.253.160(1414)'
amqsputc LOGIN.QU MY_QM


Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
wschutz
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

fj had a minor finger check when he should have typed:
Quote:

export MQServer='SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN/TCP/130.151.253.160(1414)'

_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
EddieA
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

Except that the OP is run running imqsputc, not amqsputc. The syntax he gave is correct.
Code:
//                IMQSPUT has 3 parameters:
//                - the name of a queue (required)
//                - the name of a queue manager (optional)
//                - the definition of a channel (optional)
//
//                If no queue manager name is given, the queue manager
//                defaults to the default local queue manager. If a
//                channel is defined, it should have the same format
//                as the MQSERVER environment variable.

Is the listener running on port 1414.

Cheers,
_________________
Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pratima_09
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 6:35 am    Post subject: Client Connection using imqsputc Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 13

yes, the listener is running on port on my receiving end.
I have made sure I had the following entry in in /etc/services
MQSeries 1414/tcp

But I still get a ImqQueueManager::connect failed with reason code 2058
when I am trying to connect to the remote queue manager.

Is there some other configuration that I am missing out?

Please advice..
Thanks in advance
Pratima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevinf2349
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1311
Location: USA

What version of the Client are you using? I believe there was a problem like this reported in the past. Have you tried doing a search on this site?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Are you getting a 2058 or 2059 (you have both listed).

If you are getting a 2058, this almost always means that you are able to connect to a qmgr, but it's not the "MY_QM" qmgr listening on port 1414.
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
pratima_09
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 7:00 am    Post subject: Client Connection using imqsputc Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 13

I am using version 5.3.

I have tried search this site. I found something where the user was having a issue when he was trying to connect to a channel defined by him.

But I am not even able to connect to the queue manager using default channel SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN.

What am i missing ?

Thanks
Pratima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pratima_09
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 7:03 am    Post subject: Client Connection using imqsputc Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 13

How can I make sure my remote queue manager is listening on port 1414? Is there a MQ command I can use to check this?

Thanks
Pratima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vennela
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

Code:
netstat -an | grep 1414 | grep LISTEN

should show an entry

If you think your entries in /etc are right then you can refresh inetd
For eg on AIX
Code:
refresh -s inetd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pratima_09
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 7:12 am    Post subject: Client Connection using imqsputc Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 13

Yes, I have an entry for port 1414.

Also, I have double checked my entries with the IBM site:

/etc/services
MQSeries 1414/tcp

/etc/inetd.conf
MQSeries stream tcp nowait root /opt/mqm/bin/amqcrsta amqcrsta -m MY_QM

I have also refreshed my inetd.

Is there something that I also have to set on my client side too?

-Pratima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vennela
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

From the client machine's command prompt issue
telnet mqserverip 1414
what happens?
from the command prompt where you are running the sample what happens when you issue
echo %MQSERVER%
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kevinf2349
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1311
Location: USA

Have you tried

imqsputc LOGIN.QU MY_QM SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN/tcp/130.151.253.160(1414)

?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vennela
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

Also:
From the same environment where you set the MQSERVER variable try using amqsputc instead of impqputc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pratima_09
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 7:33 am    Post subject: Client Connection using imqsputc Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 May 2006
Posts: 13

When I telnet to the my mqserver IP (port 1414), I get the following:
$ telnet 130.151.253.160 1414
Trying...
Connected to 130.151.253.160.
Escape character is '^]'.

My MQSERVER is set to SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN/tcp/130.151.253.160(1414)

This is what i am trying
imqsputc LOGIN.QU MY_QM SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN/tcp/130.151.253.160(1414)

I have also tried amqsputc and I get the following :MQCONN ended with reason code 2058
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Client Connection using imqsputc
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.