|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
MQ Connection Timeout C# |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
pbartho |
Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:54 am Post subject: MQ Connection Timeout C# |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Apr 2006 Posts: 1 Location: Philadelphia
|
Hi Everyone:
We were trying to figure out what checks we could put in place to allow MQ to fail if we give it an incorrect server name, QM, etc. Right now we have written our MQPUT/GET into a COM+ Object and we call the object from ASP. When we alter the server name to be blank we get an immediate failure, when we put in an incorrect name like MQSERVER02 instead of MQSERVER01 the object seems to sit and wait there forever and does not time out. Can anyone help us to understand what we should be doing in the event that we hit this case?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Um.
The MQCONN (or whatever you're using) should immediately complete with a Return and Completion Code if it can't connect to the queue manager.
If your COM+ object is not returning from that back to the caller, it's not likely MQ's fault. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:31 pm Post subject: Re: MQ Connection Timeout C# |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
pbartho wrote: |
when we put in an incorrect name like MQSERVER02 instead of MQSERVER01 the object seems to sit and wait there forever |
Just a thought: is this time being spent in the DNS lookup code on your client or DNS server machine? If you turn on MQ trace and inspect the files that are produced while the problem is happening (see instructions in System Administration Guide) - particularly the one written by dllhost.exe or whatever the COM+ host process is called - you should be able to see a period of time in which the long delay occurs. Maybe there will be not much written for a very long time, but simply a note that MQ is calling the TCP/IP gethostbyname() call. If this is the case, it would suggest that DNS is taking the time. Hopefully, whatever the problem is, you will be able to focus in on what is taking up all the time in this "hang" situation. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|