ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » VB API support

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 VB API support « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
nik_iway
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:41 am    Post subject: VB API support Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 21 Jul 2005
Posts: 115

Hi ,
I developed .DLL to connect to the MQServer, While Connecting i am getting 2059 errro (Queue Manager Not Found) and MQM.DLL file not found. and when i tried to register mqm.dll the specified module could not be found.


Can any body help me how to connect to MQServer using my VB API..

Wat the other configurations that needs to be done..

The MQ Admin has installed MQ 5.3 on Windows 2000 Server , with no network prerequisites.

I am using the VB API to connect to MQserver. Will that be an issue....

Waiting for your reply
Regards
nik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevinf2349
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1311
Location: USA

Quote:
I developed .DLL to connect to the MQServer,


Why? Isn't the IBM provided one working for you for some reason?

Are you using .Net or just plain old VB6?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nik_iway
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 21 Jul 2005
Posts: 115

Hi,
we are using IBM MQ API Only (mqm.dll), We are unable to register, for registration is there any prior configuration that needs to be done..

Waiting for Reply
Regards
Nik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

I use VB6.0 for small, often disposable MQ applications (MQ5.2/3, Win2K/XP) & have never bothered registering the DLL because it works fine without! The only configuration I recall doing is installing the various software, which would have been in the order Windows/MQ/VB.

Works a treat (just given it a brief spin) both as a client and with server side code. Are you certain about your connection information (wondering if the dll not found is a symptom of the 2059)?

Or it could just be another example of the rock solid environment that is Windows.....!
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:59 am    Post subject: Re: VB API support Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

nik_iway wrote:
Can any body help me how to connect to MQServer using my VB API

I see quite a few samples in Tools\VB\sampVB6 ... do any of these help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nik_iway
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 21 Jul 2005
Posts: 115

Hi,

I am using the sample supplied by the IBM, the program used is
amqsputb.vbp. I am changing the MQCONN to MQCONNX.

Code is below:

MQCONNX "TEST", cOpts, gHcon, CompCode, Reason

In java i was using :

MQEnvironment.properties.put(MQC.TRANSPORT_PROPERTY,MQC.TRANSPORT_MQSERIES_CLIENT);
MQEnvironment.userID = "mq";
MQEnvironment.password = "123";
MQEnvironment.hostname = "11.102.31.36";
MQEnvironment.port = 1414;
MQEnvironment.channel= "CHAN1";
MQQueueManager qMgr1 = new MQQueueManager("TEST");

How to set the above properties in VB6

Help required urgently
Regards
Nik
(VB newbie)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

If your application does not run on the same system as the MQ queue manager, then you need the MQ client installed on the system where it does run.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nik_iway
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 21 Jul 2005
Posts: 115

Hi Zpat,
I installed MQ Client on the System and also set the MQ Environment Variable

Variable Name : MQSERVER
Value : CHAN1/TCP/11.102.31.36(1414)

Is there any other configuration that needs to be done
Regards
Nik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

What connection options are you setting (or why are you using MQCONNX rather than MQCONN if you have MQSERVER set)?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nik_iway
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 21 Jul 2005
Posts: 115

Hi,
I am Using IBM ActiveX classes .
I am getting an error 2035 MQRC_NOT_AUTHORIZED.

Wat setting do i need to do in the Server as well as Client Machine

Help needed

Regards
Nik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

I thought you were getting a 2059? Have you now resolved the dll issues and achieved connection? If so, what was the problem (just out of curiosity)?

2035 is exactly what it says it is - an authorization failure. The common problems are:

1) The user you're running as doesn't have the authorisations you think they do;
2) You're not running as the user you think you are.

There's a wealth of information both here and in the documentation on how to check and resolve both of these situations.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nik_iway
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 21 Jul 2005
Posts: 115

Hi Victor,

I am using VB API to connect to MQSERVER on Windows 2000 Server. I copied the MQIC32.dll into the execution directory but i am able to register it. Wat r the neccessary .DLL and files required for the VB API to connect to MQServer.

Regards
Nik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You can not copy mqm.dll or mqic32.dll and get MQ to function.

MQ requires the entire client installation or the entire server installation in order to function.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2080

nik_iway wrote:
I copied the MQIC32.dll into the execution directory but i am able to register it.

There is no need to copy the MQ DLLs. Just add the directory containing the MQ DLLs to the PATH in use by your app.

There is no need to "register" the MQ DLLs. They don't offer COM interfaces; they are regular Win32 DLLs.

Quote:
Wat r the neccessary .DLL and files required for the VB API to connect to MQServer.

If you're connecting over TCP/IP (ie. client-bound app) then it's MQIC32.DLL. Please check out the comments at the top of Tools\VB\include\cmqb.bas ; you will need to set MqType appropriately.


Last edited by mvic on Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

Hi Nik,

I can only echo jefflowrey - your code will need a proper MQ install, either client or server, before you're going to get anywhere. Even though they are packaged as ActiveX. Trying to pick single dlls will not work, and given the small footprint of the client is more effort than it's worth.

Even if it was going to work!
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » VB API support
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.