|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
JMS Request/Reply Scenario |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
sam |
Posted: Thu May 02, 2002 11:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 02 Apr 2002 Posts: 52
|
I wanted to know how to deal with this situation. I have a request/reply scenario. I make a request to a remote queue manager and timeout after some specified interval. This is all fine, but let's say the remote queue manager is down how do I know whether the response not being returned is b'coz of the queue manager being down or for some other reason? I just want to be able to throw an error saying remote queue manager down. How do I know whether the remote queue manager is down or not? Thanks for the input. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Thu May 02, 2002 11:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Short of client connecting to the remote queue manager you wont know that is
one of the good/bad of MQSeries
Good being it isolates applications from network failures and server outages
Bad for the same reason.
_________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Thu May 02, 2002 12:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Well in fact there is a trick, but it would require some extra coding. Assuming that you are NOT in a clustered envrionment, and you have a separate transmission queue for each channel, you could do the following. If the remote queue manager is down, then we know that the channel from the local queue manager to the remote queue manager must be down. That means any messages bound for the remote queue manager must still be on the local transmission queue associated with that channel. If your application times out while waiting for a reply, you can do an MQINQ on the local transmission queue and see if the depth is greater than 0. If so, you can assume the channel is down, and send the appropriate error.
_________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Fri May 03, 2002 3:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Well there is also some other tricks,
such as program to monitor the SYSTEM.ADMIN.CHANNEL.EVENT which will get channel stop events, you could then disable MQPUT's to the transmit queue which
would give you app reason code of 2051 which you could use to tell the application the channel is down.
_________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|