Author |
Message
|
Gopalakrishna N |
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 2:24 pm Post subject: Java to Mainframe Communication |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 14 Mar 2006 Posts: 6 Location: Texas
|
Hi
I am trying send messages through MQ to external Mainframe systems. The specification those Mainframe guys have told me is just that I need to send the messages in EBCDIC format Now how do I manage to do this from my Java program!
Is there any way I can specify it as a part of Queue/ Channel property? Kindly reply asap. Thanks a ton in advance.
Thanks and Regards
Gopalakrishna N |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 2:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You need to tell the mainframe guys to set MQGMO_CONVERT in their program.
And you need to ensure that you either use a TextMessage if you are writing JMS or that you set Format to MQFMT_STRING if you are using the Java API. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gopalakrishna N |
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 2:59 pm Post subject: Java to Mainframe Communication |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 14 Mar 2006 Posts: 6 Location: Texas
|
Thanks a lot for the info Jeff.
Is there any way of handling the same through MQ Properties? I mean setitng some property values in the Queue Manager or Channel? If the above is the only way, then kindly pardon my ignorance on the same.
Thanks and Regards,
Gopalakrishna N. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 3:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You can instruct the channel to convert the message.
You don't want to do this, though. It is not recommended.
And you will still have to ensure that your message is either a TextMessage or has MQFMT_STRING Format. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gopalakrishna N |
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 3:51 pm Post subject: Java to Mainframe Communication |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 14 Mar 2006 Posts: 6 Location: Texas
|
Thanks a ton again Jeff.
If you could let me know how to instruct the Channel to do that, it would be extremely helpful. Kindly help me out.
Thanks and Regards,
Gopalakrishna N. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:37 pm Post subject: Re: Java to Mainframe Communication |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Gopalakrishna N wrote: |
If you could let me know how to instruct the Channel to do that, it would be extremely helpful. Kindly help me out.
|
Your MQ admin will know how to do it, and should hopefully recomend against it when you ask. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 6:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
One thing you can do in JMS is play around with the Q definition:
Code: |
String myqstr = "queue:///myremoteq?targetClient=1&CCSID=500";
Queue thequeue = Session.createQueue(myqstr); |
This is from memory so you might want to read up on the using java manual.
The CCSID or targetClient can as well be set through the JNDI layer.
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|