Author |
Message
|
JScherbel |
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:12 am Post subject: Error Log Directory for Client |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 Posts: 4
|
I'm trying to build a C application that will run on a remote machine and connect to MQ Server 5.3. Anyway, I don't have a lot of access on this client machine and thus cannot create a /var/mqm/errors/ directory. Does anyone know if we can specify the error path at run-time?
I'm taking a segfault when copying my client executable from a machine that doesn't have ANY access to the MQ Server to a machine that will. On the development machine (that doesn't have visibility to MQ Server), I take error 2195 on MQCONN call. Moving the code to the test server (that HAS visibility to the MQ Server), I take a segmentation fault somewhere in the MQCONN call.
An 'strace' seems to indicate that an error file is trying to be written but it cannot write to /var/mqm/errors/
ANY help is appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You can not just copy a client application to a machine that does not have the MQ Client installed on it.
The MQ Client installation should create this directory, with the proper permissions.
If there was a full and proper installation of the MQ client on the machine in question, then perhaps your administrators changed the permissions on /var/mqm/errors improperly. This is obviously outside your control and you should not be working to correct it or work around it.
Your application itself should not be writing into /var/mqm/errors. It should have its own location for log files.
You can not specify the MQ error path at runtime. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JScherbel |
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 Posts: 4
|
THANK YOU FOR THE PROMPT REPLY.
Forgive me but I'm not a C developer normally and am being baptized by fire here...
Can we use the lib (libmqic.so and it's dependancies) and not "install" the full client? What does the installation do? I'm being restricted by our hosting admins and they basically want a single .SO file eventually that we can "DL" for use in PHP.
Presently I'm just trying to run the sample program that does a MQCONN, MQOPEN, MQPUT, and MQDISC. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
Can we use the lib (libmqic.so and it's dependancies) and not "install" the full client |
No.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
JScherbel wrote: |
Can we use the lib (libmqic.so and it's dependancies) and not "install" the full client? |
No.
You can't do anything less than a full client installation for C programs. You'll have to disappoint your administrators uninformed dream.
The only thing you can do less than a full client installation for a plain Java MQ Client app. And even then, it won't be a supported configuration.
Also, baptisms by fire are pretty much industry standard - welcome to the deep end of the pool. Get used to it, or change careeers. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JScherbel |
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 8:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 Posts: 4
|
ok. What exactly does the MQ client install? Files in /opt/mqm/ and /var/mqm/ only? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
/opt/mqm -- yes this is where the program lives (Solaris..)
/var/mqm -- Why should a client install this? or is it done only for logging and errors ?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
/opt/mqm -- yes this is where the program lives (Solaris..)
/var/mqm -- Why should a client install this? or is it done only for logging and errors ?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|