Author |
Message
|
mart |
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:48 am Post subject: MQ with authentication exit on solaris client |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
We have an application hosted on Solaris 9, written in C/C++ that needs to pass MQ messages to a server owned and hosted by another company (i.e. we have no direct access to it and cannot modify the configuration of the MQ server).
Our application has a plugin that is used to send the MQ messages and it is currently using the v5.3 C++ client, but when we cannot connect to the server without them turning off the authentication on the server (I believe they are using an authentication exit with user id/password which as far as I can tell, is not supported by this client).
I can't see a way forward with this right now. Does anyone know if there is another client available that we could use on Solaris with our application that would have support for authentication?
Thanks in advance for any help.
Mart |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Are they running MQ v6? _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mart |
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
No, they are using MQ v5.3 (and we are using the v5.3 client) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Quote: |
believe they are using an authentication exit with user id/password which as far as I can tell, is not supported by this client) |
So, you probably mean the have a "security exit" on their end .... normally, if security exits are being used for this, there is one for the client side and one for the server side. Can you confirm this with them? _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mart |
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Normally, you have a client channel definitiot (clntconn) on your end which specifies the connection paramters. It is here where you would specify a security exit to be called.
How does your application know how to connect to the MQ server (ie, where do you specify host, port ....)? _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mart |
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
The MQSERVER variable comes from an environment variable in the following form:
CHANNEL.NAME.HERE/TCP/123.456.789.123(1414)
The queue name and manager are held in our application's ini file and passed to MQOPEN. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Okay, thats good, if youdo need to specify a security exit, you'll need a channel table (amqclchl.tab), which we can show you how to setup. _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mart |
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
Thank you for your help Wayne.
Am I right in assuming that amqclchl.tab is a file that would live in the directory our application is run from? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
It could. You need to set an environment variable (MQCHLLIB) to specify the directory where the file is located. _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mart |
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 6:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
Hi Wayne,
I have been given a username and password for the MQ client to use, I assume this would go in the channel table for the security exit.
Is this enough information to create the channel table? (along with the IP, port, channel name, queue manager etc that I already have)
Thanks,
Martyn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Did they just give you a userid and password? They need to tell you what to do with them. (You might see a userid and password on client channel table definitions, but those are only for LU62, not tcp connections). I assume you are running the client on Windows 2000 or some such. As i said earlier, normally a client side security exit is used to pass things like a userid and password along. _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mart |
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
I'm still waiting for the other information from them.
The client software is running on Solaris 9 (it is v5.3 of the C++ MQ client). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|