ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » MQ with authentication exit on solaris client

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MQ with authentication exit on solaris client « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mart
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:48 am    Post subject: MQ with authentication exit on solaris client Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 03 Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Location: UK

We have an application hosted on Solaris 9, written in C/C++ that needs to pass MQ messages to a server owned and hosted by another company (i.e. we have no direct access to it and cannot modify the configuration of the MQ server).

Our application has a plugin that is used to send the MQ messages and it is currently using the v5.3 C++ client, but when we cannot connect to the server without them turning off the authentication on the server (I believe they are using an authentication exit with user id/password which as far as I can tell, is not supported by this client).

I can't see a way forward with this right now. Does anyone know if there is another client available that we could use on Solaris with our application that would have support for authentication?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Mart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Are they running MQ v6?
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
mart
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 03 Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Location: UK

No, they are using MQ v5.3 (and we are using the v5.3 client)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Quote:
believe they are using an authentication exit with user id/password which as far as I can tell, is not supported by this client)
So, you probably mean the have a "security exit" on their end .... normally, if security exits are being used for this, there is one for the client side and one for the server side. Can you confirm this with them?
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
mart
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 03 Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Location: UK

I emailed them two days ago to find out what authentication/security method is being used, as soon as I hear back I'll post here (it isn't unusual to take a couple of days to reply - the joys of working with a big company).

Assuming they are using a security exit, would it be possible to use one of these on our server (we don't use WebSphere or Java).

If its any use, this is the documentation I have for the client software we're using:
> Application Programming Guide :
> http://publibfp.boulder.ibm.com/epubs/html/csqzal09/csqzal09tfrm.htm
>
> Application Programming Reference :
> http://publibfp.boulder.ibm.com/epubs/html/csqzak07/csqzak07tfrm.htm

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Normally, you have a client channel definitiot (clntconn) on your end which specifies the connection paramters. It is here where you would specify a security exit to be called.

How does your application know how to connect to the MQ server (ie, where do you specify host, port ....)?
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
mart
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 03 Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Location: UK

The MQSERVER variable comes from an environment variable in the following form:

CHANNEL.NAME.HERE/TCP/123.456.789.123(1414)

The queue name and manager are held in our application's ini file and passed to MQOPEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Okay, thats good, if youdo need to specify a security exit, you'll need a channel table (amqclchl.tab), which we can show you how to setup.
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
mart
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 03 Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Location: UK

Thank you for your help Wayne.

Am I right in assuming that amqclchl.tab is a file that would live in the directory our application is run from?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

It could. You need to set an environment variable (MQCHLLIB) to specify the directory where the file is located.
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
mart
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 03 Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Location: UK

Hi Wayne,

I have been given a username and password for the MQ client to use, I assume this would go in the channel table for the security exit.
Is this enough information to create the channel table? (along with the IP, port, channel name, queue manager etc that I already have)

Thanks,
Martyn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Did they just give you a userid and password? They need to tell you what to do with them. (You might see a userid and password on client channel table definitions, but those are only for LU62, not tcp connections). I assume you are running the client on Windows 2000 or some such. As i said earlier, normally a client side security exit is used to pass things like a userid and password along.
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
mart
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 03 Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Location: UK

I'm still waiting for the other information from them.

The client software is running on Solaris 9 (it is v5.3 of the C++ MQ client).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » MQ with authentication exit on solaris client
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.