|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Lookup table support |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
DAS |
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:52 am Post subject: Lookup table support |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 15 Aug 2005 Posts: 30
|
Is it possible without the intervention of databases, to generate lookup-tables using ESQL. I mean some kind of pseudo-arrays.
Please don't give me possibilities regarding storing variables in the LocalEnvironment.Variables, as this gives performance issues (regenerating the lookup array each time a message-flow is entered).
Also don't give me possibilities regarding simple 'if...then...else' constructs or select case.
If there is no answer to my problem, maybe someone can tell me how to change a variable passed by reference to an ESQL function. For instance, it's very uncomfortable to initialize a LIST construct before calling a function that operates on it. You want to make the function global and hence the generation of the LIST should be a global definition too.
Thanks in advance. Please contact me by mail too, when responding to this topic! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JLRowe |
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 6:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 25 May 2002 Posts: 664 Location: South East London
|
You could take a look at a java node/ESQL function, you may be able to store the table in a static variable. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 6:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Out of the box, it is (and by design!) not possible to code a message flow to maintain state across invocations of that flow.
There are a few different support packs that will provide some assistance, and one can use a database. It is also possible to use a custom plug-in, and as JLRowe says it may be possible to invoke a java procedure that accesses a cached value.
But there's no way with a Java procedure to build the list at broker startup - so you'll have to build a singleton that builds the list at the first message through the flow - which is a performance hit that you may not want to take. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
Perhaps the Initialization feature (Chapter 7) in the IA91 Broker Domain Data Store supportpac can provide this functionality for you.
The feature provides the ability to load a database table into memory. The cache is then available to all instances of your messageflows, via a CachGet node, throughout the messageflows' lifecycle. According to the performance numbers it's exceedingly faster than a database lookup. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|