|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Setup Pub/Sub model in MQ intercommunication |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
erolagnab |
Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:01 pm Post subject: Setup Pub/Sub model in MQ intercommunication |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 05 Aug 2005 Posts: 8
|
Hi all,
I'm having an experiment with MQ v6.0 Pub/Sub:
QMB is a broker. QM1 and QM2 are two other queue managers (not act as brokers). All three are deployed in three different PCs. C is the selected programming language. (the existing system is using SPAZIO XSP 2.2, otherwise I could have used JMS instead)
What I've done is to follow MQ Pub/Sub Tutorial document, exercise 3. But I changed the configuration so that subscriber queues in QMB as remote queues connecting to local queue defined in QM1 and QM2.
1) The publisher program publishes a message to a local queue in QMB, the message is expected to be sent to 2 subscriber remote queues and therefore to arrive at local queues in QM1 and QM2.
2) The subscriber programs, running in PC where QM1 and QM2 reside, retrieve messages constrained registered topics.
However, it doesn't work.
Would someone provide a suggestion? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 3:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
I'm not familiar with the tutorial, but some simple things to check would be:
1) Is the broker running (dspmqbrk -m WSCHUTZ)
2) Are there any messages on the publication queue? (maybe SYSTEM.BROKER.DEFAULT.STREAM)
3) Are there any messags on the transmision queus to QM1 and QM2?
4) Any messages in the AMQER01.LOG ? _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 5:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
As you are using C -- search the forum for the term "XMS"
There is a support pack you may find interesting for pub/sub ....
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
erolagnab |
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 12:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 05 Aug 2005 Posts: 8
|
wschutz wrote: |
I'm not familiar with the tutorial, but some simple things to check would be:
1) Is the broker running (dspmqbrk -m WSCHUTZ)
2) Are there any messages on the publication queue? (maybe SYSTEM.BROKER.DEFAULT.STREAM)
3) Are there any messags on the transmision queus to QM1 and QM2?
4) Any messages in the AMQER01.LOG ? |
1) Sure
2) Publication program runs successfully, but there're no messages in the default stream queue
3) No messages saved in tranmission queue
4) I've not checked the log.
Many thanks for the checklist. There are few points that I've not checked when debugging - logging, and command control queue.
@fjb_saper: Thanks, I'll search and let you know the results. _________________ It's not a bug ... it's an un-documented feature! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ashoon |
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 10:31 am Post subject: how are subscriptions made? |
|
|
Master
Joined: 26 Oct 2004 Posts: 235
|
I believe your setup is viable - couple things I can think of is are subscriptions made to QMB or QM1/2?
Also when you subscribe to QMB do you set the reply to queue/queue manager? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 1:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Also check the dead letter queue.
In fact, check all of your queues on the broker queue manager have a depth that is surprising.
Are you using the standard broker, or EB or MB?
If you are using the standard broker, I highly recommned setting up the queue needed to run amqspsd. Amqspsd is the sample "pub/sub dumper". It's in <MQ_Install>\samples\bin, or ../samp/bin on unix. Just run amqspsd, and it will tell you what you need to do. Then run it again, and determine for sure that your subscriptions are registered properly, and to the things you think they are. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
erolagnab |
Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 05 Aug 2005 Posts: 8
|
@fjp_saper: Yeah, I found XMS really interesting. Now we can write JMS in C, C++. However it's still in the beta version. Hope it can be released soon.
@wschutz: log doesn't reveal anything.
@jeff: The command "Amqspsd" really helps. I was able to monitor the broker.
With the described configuration, I ran only publication program and tried to monitor queue depths. However, I really surprise that, even relevant queues (control queue, stream queue, dead letter queue) don't have any message, though the return code is MQCC_OK. The EVENT queue is fed with few messages.
Since subscription program bascially sends a message to control queue to register the topic and ask for messages, so if it resides remotely then it may not be able to do so.
I know the experiment is a bit crazy, whereas borker network resolves every things that I want to achieve.
Thanks for all your helps, guys. _________________ It's not a bug ... it's an un-documented feature! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|