ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Failing Object: PEA

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Failing Object: PEA « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
saurabh
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:37 pm    Post subject: Failing Object: PEA Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Location: Delhi, India

When invoking java activity implementation from my custom java client, i get the following error:

com.ibm.workflow.api.FmcException:
FMC38009E MQSeries Workflow API Error :
API Return Code : 13
Error Origin : e:\v350\src\fmcjccon.cxx, line 1254
Error Message : FMC00013E Communication error - Failing Action: GET, Reason Code: 13, Failing Object: PEA.
Nested Exception : None

activity implementation code snippet:

Agent agent = new Agent();
agent.setLocator(Agent.LOC_LOCATOR);
agent.setName("MQWFAgent");
service = agent.locate("","");
Thread.sleep(20000);
System.out.println("Logon service: "+service);
System.out.println("programExecutionAgentStartUp");
ExecutionAgent eAgent = agent.getExecutionAgent();
System.out.println("Logon successful");
ReadOnlyContainer incntr=eAgent.inContainer();
ReadWriteContainer outcntr= eAgent.outContainer();
ContainerElement[] leaves = new ContainerElement[200];
leaves=outcntr.allLeaves();
outcntr.setLong(leaves[0].fullName(),0);


calling client code snippet:

service.programExecutionAgentStartUp();
startItem.start();
service.programExecutionAgentShutDown();
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jmac
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Code:
 ExecutionAgent eAgent = agent.getExecutionAgent();


The above should be the ExecutionService, not ExecutionAgent. ExecutionAgent is only used in the program that is started.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
saurabh
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Location: Delhi, India

I'm sorry i dint get u, can u please elaborate.....the Programming Doc gives a sample activity implementation as follows:

try { // general try clause for whole example
Agent agent = new Agent();
agent.setLocator(Agent.LOC_LOCATOR);
agent.setName("LOCAL");
ExecutionService service = agent.locate("","");
System.out.println();
/************************************************************************/ /* First we cope with the activity’s INPUT container: */ /* - get the container */ /* - get the leaves of the container */ /* - display the member values */ /************************************************************************/ /*----- Get Input Container --------------------------------------------*/

ReadOnlyContainer inctnr;
ExecutionAgent eAgent = agent.getExecutionAgent();
inctnr = eAgent.inContainer();
out.write("\nReceived input container ’" + inctnr.type() + "’\n"); System.out.println("\nReceived input container ’" + inctnr.type() + "’\n");

/*----- Get Leave Count ------------------------------------------------*/
int ulLeafCount = inctnr.allLeafCount();
out.write("Input container AllLeafCount() = " + ulLeafCount + "\n");

that is what i've done too, and if i use ExecutionService instead of ExecutionAgent, then what wud be the method to get the incontainer and outcontainer?

Thanks for the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jmac
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Sorry... I looked at your code backwards....

The code in your original post is fine....

Who are you logging on in your client code? It should be one of the users assigned to run the activity.... If that is what you are doing, then I don't see what the problem is. Can you run this activity implementation from the "fat client"?
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jmac
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Forgot one thing. If you are running 3.6 and using the Native Java API, the PEA is not fully supported... please consult the doc for complete info.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
saurabh
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Location: Delhi, India

I'm using Workflow 3.5 with native java API.

I was using the normal WF API earlier, but it dint work well, when using JBoss as the application server to launch my custom WF client. Thus i had to shift to Java Native API. The workflow client works fine otherwise, and the activity implementation also works well when invoked from the WF runtime client.

But when the same activity implementation is invoked from my custom java client, i get a communication error with failing object as the PEA. Please suggest a workaround for this problem, i shall be obliged.

Note: I've started the PEA from the custom client properly, and i'm trying to start a workitem which is authorised to that user. And yes i'm able to run this activity from the workflow runtime client. The activity is a manual activity so i dont see the usage of UPES in this context, i hope i'm right. Please suggest a way out.

Thanks


Last edited by saurabh on Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jmac
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

I would suggest that you look at all of the restrictions around using the Native Java API and a PEA. I have no experience with this, as I simply do not use PEAs anymore.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
saurabh
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Location: Delhi, India

Is using UPES a workaround in this case....? Please suggest a solution....Thanks alot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
saurabh
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Location: Delhi, India

After debugging, what i come to know is that the exception occurs when it enconters the code:

ReadOnlyContainer inctr=eAgent.incontainer();

where eAgent is the ExecutionAgent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jmac
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

saurabh wrote:
Is using UPES a workaround in this case....? Please suggest a solution....Thanks alot


Since a UPES does not require a PEA I would say yes... However, it appears to me that you really need to understand a little better what you are doing with MQWF.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
saurabh
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Location: Delhi, India

jmac wrote:

However, it appears to me that you really need to understand a little better what you are doing with MQWF.


Agreed.....)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Failing Object: PEA
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.