Author |
Message
|
mqfrmq |
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:48 pm Post subject: Out of curiosity..... |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 08 Dec 2004 Posts: 12
|
Hi,
I want to know whether there is any command to find out the the default queue manager name in the local system......
As I know, in case of windows 2000, this can be found from either regedit or through MQ Services by clicking on the properties window of each queue manager. This can be found through mqs.ini in case of Unix machine also.
But I want to know, othere than these... is there any specific command which can be given in the command prompt which displays the name of the default queue manger alone...
Thanks, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr Butcher |
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 1716
|
echo DISPLAY QMGR | runmqsc | find "QMNAME"
will return a line with the qmgr name. some other utils may extract the qmgr name from this.
if no defaultqmgr, it will return an empty line _________________ Regards, Butcher |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
or simply type runmqsc.
If a default MQManager has been defined you will see something like this:
"Starting MQSC for queue manager *****" where ***** represents the name of the default MQManager.
If you type runmqsc from a command line without specifying an MQManager name and no default MQManager has been designated you will get an error code indicating that the the MQManager is not available or does not exist. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqfrmq |
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 3:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 08 Dec 2004 Posts: 12
|
Hi all,
thanks for the replies.
When I say runmqsc,
C:\>runmqsc
47P8479, 5639-B43 (C) Copyright IBM Corp. 1994, 2001. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Starting MQSeries Commands.
.........
This is what it says, it doesn't show me the default qmgr name.
But when I tried Butcher's option, it clearly showed me the default qmgr name.
C:\>echo DISPLAY QMGR | runmqsc | find "QMNAME"
COMMANDQ(SYSTEM.ADMIN.COMMAND.QUEUE) QMNAME(QM_nex2jjp_asind1)
Thanks again,
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
clindsey |
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 6:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 12 Jul 2002 Posts: 586 Location: Dallas, Tx
|
FYI, this will only work if the queue manager if running.
Charlie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 8:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
Quote: |
When I say runmqsc,
C:\>runmqsc
47P8479, 5639-B43 (C) Copyright IBM Corp. 1994, 2001. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Starting MQSeries Commands.
.........
This is what it says, it doesn't show me the default qmgr name. |
You have to take it one step further and issue the command:
This will display a list of parameters, one of which is QMNAME. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqfrmq |
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 8:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 08 Dec 2004 Posts: 12
|
yes JT,
it works.
After saying runmqsc, when I say display qmgr,
it did display the default qmgr name along with the properties.
Thanks again,
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
csmith28 wrote: |
or simply type runmqsc.
If a default MQManager has been defined you will see something like this:
"Starting MQSC for queue manager *****" where ***** represents the name of the default MQManager.
If you type runmqsc from a command line without specifying an MQManager name and no default MQManager has been designated you will get an error code indicating that the the MQManager is not available or does not exist. |
Wow, i never noticed this before. In DOS it doesn't echo the MQManager name, just a .
In AIX it actually echo's the MQManager name. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|