Author |
Message
|
girondax |
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:58 am Post subject: Use of MQSeries API between unix and a pc |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 Posts: 2
|
Hi all,
I am building a tool that aims at inserting data obtained from a oracle table into a MQ queue.
The tool is running on a pc (built in java), the db is running on a unix server and the MQ queue on an other unix server.
I am not sure the load in MQ can be automatic after the oracle data are retrieved. Maybe I would need to create a file and ftp it to unix and run manually the loader on unix side?
Has someone already tried this kind of manipulation?
Can someone advise on how he would process?
Cheers, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Everyone does this all the time.
Your code needs to do this:
1) Establish a database connection to Oracle.
2) Establish an MQ Client connection to MQ.
3) Select from Oracle.
4) Write to message.
5) Write message to queue.
BUT!
You can not use a two-phase commit/globally coordinated transaction/XA transaction with a regular MQ Client. You have to either establish a bindings connection (which means your code has to run ON the MQ server), or use the MQ Extended Transaction Client - which is not free. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
malammik |
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 27 Jan 2005 Posts: 397 Location: Philadelphia, PA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
girondax |
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 Posts: 2
|
Txs for your feedback.
Problem is to access MQ queue on Unix from the pc, we don't have MQSeries installed on the PCs.
If we run it from unix from the machine where MQseries is installed, then the pb disapears.
Also the data to retrieve from the db table is contained into a long raw. Do you have any advise?
Cheers. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
girondax wrote: |
Problem is to access MQ queue on Unix from the pc, we don't have MQSeries installed on the PCs. |
You need the Java classes for the MQ API installed with your application. You wouldn't expect to be able to connect to the Oracle Database from the PC without installing software on the pc - why should MQ be different? You wouldn't expect to run a java application without installing Java on the machine, why should MQ be any different?
girondax wrote: |
If we run it from unix from the machine where MQseries is installed, then the pb disapears. |
Because the Java classes for the MQ API are installed on that machine. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|