|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Is there any known problem related to MQ segmentation....? |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Maximus |
Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:10 pm Post subject: Is there any known problem related to MQ segmentation....? |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 14 Jun 2004 Posts: 57
|
Hi Everyone
I need the advice of MQ experts...
Is there any known problem related to MQ segmentation or it's pretty much bullet proof?
I want to include the following code to support segmentation and the client is worried that it may cause some problems if more then one program is putting or getting messages at the same time on the same queue:
=======================================================
The only changes necessary for these applications are for the putting application to
authorize the queue manager to perform segmentation if necessary,
PMO.Options = (existing options)
MQPUT MD.MsgFlags = MQMF_SEGMENTATION_ALLOWED
and for the getting application to ask the queue manager to reassemble the
message if it has been segmented:
GMO.Options = MQGMO_COMPLETE_MSG | (existing options)
MQGET
=======================================================
Thanks for your advices... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
As far as I understand it, IBM puts it's full faith behind it's products.
That means that if you can demonstrate a case where the product does not work the way it is documented to work, then IBM will do every thing it can to correct this - or to help you correct your code and your understanding so that they match what is documented.
That said, the best course of action to verify anything is to actually test the conditions you are worried about. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 2:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
You'll need to specify Version_2 for the MD's and the GMO structures. And of course, automatic segmentation is not supported on zOS.
The only thing to "watch out" for is the additional header (MQMDE) that is placed in the payload. Normally, you don't see this, since MQ merges it into the MQMD when getting the messages into a version 2 MQMD.
Also, to make it bullet proof, your qmgrname names that generate segmented messages all need to be unique within the first 12 characters of the name, since that's used to compose a unique GroupID for each set.
There was a post here recenty about a problem with conversion of segmented messages when MQFMT_NONE was being specified (to zOS), but you should be ok if you use MQFMT_STRING.
Segmentation has been around since V5.1 IIRC. _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|