ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Putting Messages on a remote Queue Manager

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Putting Messages on a remote Queue Manager « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mangoMan
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:20 am    Post subject: Putting Messages on a remote Queue Manager Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 69

Guys,

If I have a transmit queue from box a to box b can I use an application to do a direct put from A to a queue on B?

FROM BOX A:

MQPUT( QMgr on B, queue on B)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

I'm not sure that you have all of your definitions setup correctly, but you can definitely do the put from A to B. Check out the Intercommunications Manual for more info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
kevinf2349
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1311
Location: USA

Yes.....but not like that.

Read the Application Programmers Guide for your options.

Basically there are three ways. One is that you create a client application to connect to the remote qmgr, another is you can cluster the 2 queue managers and a third is that you define a path from the qmgr on A to the qmgr on B ....but in this case you will put a message onto the remote queue on A that will get the message across to your destination queue on B rather than put it directly on the queue on B.

This is fairly basic MQ stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JT
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 1564
Location: Hartford, CT.

Quote:
Opening remote queues

A remote queue is a queue owned by a queue manager other than the one to which the application is connected.

To open a remote queue, use the MQOPEN call as for a local queue. There are different ways you can specify the name of the queue:

  1. In the ObjectName field of the MQOD structure, specify the name of the remote queue as known to the local queue manager.
    Note: The ObjectQMgrName field must be left blank in this case.

  2. In the ObjectName field of the MQOD structure, specify the name of the remote queue, as known to the remote queue manager. In the ObjectQMgrName field, specify either:

    • The name of the transmission queue that has the same name as the remote queue manager. Note that the name and case (capitals, lower case or a mixture) must match exactly.

    • The name of a queue manager alias object that resolves to the destination queue manager or the transmission queue.

    This tells the queue manager the destination of the message as well as the transmission queue it needs to be put on to get there.

  3. If DefXmitQname is supported, in the ObjectName field of the MQOD structure, specify the name of the remote queue as known by the remote queue manager.
    Note:The ObjectQMgrName field must be set to the name of the remote queue manager (it cannot be left blank in this case).

See option #2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mangoMan
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 69

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mangoMan
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 69

Thanks JT, do you have any sample Java code that does this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

http://www.developer.ibm.com/isv/tech/sampmq.html - take a look at mqreqro.java and mqsrvro.java
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Putting Messages on a remote Queue Manager
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.