Author |
Message
|
anveshita |
Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:37 am Post subject: triggering remote program |
|
|
Master
Joined: 27 Sep 2004 Posts: 254 Location: Jambudweepam
|
I have a queue manager QM1 and queue Q1 on system "A", which is a unix box. Now when a message comes to this queue Q1, I would like to start a batch program. Now the catch is that the batch program is on Windows box "B".Windows box has MQSeries client and no server installed because of licensing issues.
Any direction, regarding this would be helpful.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You need a client trigger monitor.
Like runmqtrmc.
Or the support pack. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Nigelg |
Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 02 Aug 2004 Posts: 1046
|
A trigger allows you to execute a command in the shell on the machine that is running the trigger monitor.
You could run the trigger monitor client (runmqtmc) on the Windows machine, then it would be able to execute the command there. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
anveshita |
Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 7:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 27 Sep 2004 Posts: 254 Location: Jambudweepam
|
Thanks for the response.
I have used the trigger monitor on server side.
For doing this on server side,
1. I have created a process definition on the queue manager Q1 and gave the full path for the script that the process need to execute.
2. Then turned on the created a trigger option on "Q1" to put trigger on "every" message and added the process definiton in the queue properties for the queue Q1. I have also added the initiatiaon queue as "myinitq".
3. This caused the Queue manager QM1 to put a message in Inititaion queue when the trigger fires "myinitq".This in turn kicked off the script mentioned in my process definiton.
4. Then ran>> runmqtrm –m QM! –qmyinitq
This is first time I have to try trigger monitor on client machine. How do I define the process definiton? Since the script that needed to be execurted on a local machine, I am not usre how to define the process definiton. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 7:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You define the process definition so that it makes sense to the trigger monitor that handles it.
So specify the full path to the batch file *on the windows machine*.
Also, do not use triggertype = 'every'. It's not going to give you one trigger message per message on the queue and your programs should read all messages on the queue until it's empty. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 8:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Also, remember that the triggered program needs to be linked with the mq client libraries and needs MQSERVER/channel table or MQCONNX back to your MQ server machine.
You might also want to look at supportpac MA7K which is a client trigger monitor written as a proper windows service. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|