Author |
Message
|
ajith_rajan |
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 8:55 pm Post subject: Channel in Retrying state |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 05 Sep 2003 Posts: 32
|
Hi
The MQ channels in our environment were running fine until we encountered this problem yesterday. All of a sudden, one of our sender channel is in Retrying state. I had checked that the connectivity is fine by doing a telnet test at the port & the IP where the sender channel is connecting to. All looks fine but its failing to start with the following error message logged in the error file.
*******************************************************
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AMQ9558: Remote Channel is not currently available.
EXPLANATION:
The channel program ended because the channel 'INBNDMSG.TO.LMUKQMGR' is not
currently available on the remote system. This could be because the channel is
disabled or that the remote system does not have sufficient resources to run a
further channel.
ACTION:
Check the remote system to ensure that the channel is available to run, and
retry the operation.
----- amqrfpta.c : 334 --------------------------------------------------------
05/31/05 02:43:45
AMQ9999: Channel program ended abnormally.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'INBNDMSG.TO.LMUKQMGR' ended abnormally.
ACTION:
Look at previous error messages for channel program 'INBNDMSG.TO.LMUKQMGR' in
the error files to determine the cause of the failure.
----- amqrccca.c : 769 --------------------------------------------------------
*******************************************************
One more observation made is that at the remote side, when tried to use a MQ command to display the channel status of the receiver channel, I noticed more than one (around five) receiver channel status displayed as 'RUNNING'. When I tried to stop the sender channel, the receiver channels shows its state as only 'STOPPING'.
Anyone had faced such a problem?? Pls. help.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dgolding |
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 11:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 16 May 2001 Posts: 668 Location: Switzerland
|
Try a STOP CHL(rcvr chl name) MODE(FORCE) on the remote end.
Wait until all the channels say STOPPED (not STOPPING), then do a START CHL(chl name) on both the remote and local side (i.e. start the channel at both ends).
But you shouldn't see five instances of the receiver channel running. Something's amiss. What does the AMQERR01.LOG say on the remote side? Do you have any resource problems on that side? What platforms are the sending and receiving boxes? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ajith_rajan |
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 11:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 05 Sep 2003 Posts: 32
|
Hi
I tried the stop channel command with force mode as suggested by you. This is again giving the same result. The Channel status moves to Stopping only.
The Error messages logged at the QM containing the sender channel side is as follows :
*********************************************************
AMQ9558: Remote Channel is not currently available.
EXPLANATION:
The channel program ended because the channel 'QM654GRE.TO.QM_REPOS' is not
currently available on the remote system. This could be because the channel is
disabled or that the remote system does not have sufficient resources to run a
further channel.
ACTION:
Check the remote system to ensure that the channel is available to run, and
retry the operation.
**********************************************************
The Error logged in the receiver channel side is as given below:
**********************************************************
05/31/05 05:52:04
AMQ9514: Channel 'INBNDMSG.TO.LMUKQMGR' is in use.
EXPLANATION:
The requested operation failed because channel 'INBNDMSG.TO.LMUKQMGR' is
currently active.
ACTION:
Either end the channel manually, or wait for it to close, and retry the
operation.
----- amqrcsia.c : 862 --------------------------------------------------------
05/31/05 05:52:04
AMQ9999: Channel program ended abnormally.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'INBNDMSG.TO.LMUKQMGR' ended abnormally.
ACTION:
Look at previous error messages for channel program 'INBNDMSG.TO.LMUKQMGR' in
the error files to determine the cause of the failure.
----- amqrmrsa.c : 467 --------------------------------------------------------
**********************************************************
Let me know if you require any further info.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dgolding |
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 11:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 16 May 2001 Posts: 668 Location: Switzerland
|
You must wait until the channels are in status STOPPED.
Do a dis chs(*) all - this will show you the process ID of the receiver channel - it's in JOBNAME (this is usually process-id/thread id, in hex). Then kill this process.
You still haven't said what platforms you are using. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ajith_rajan |
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 12:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 05 Sep 2003 Posts: 32
|
Actually, this problem is existing in our production environment. Is it safe to go ahead and kill these processes now or should I need to have a downtime for doing this. Kindly let me know.
We are using Solaris machines where MQ Software is installed and configured.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dgolding |
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 12:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 16 May 2001 Posts: 668 Location: Switzerland
|
The process ID should be pointing to a multi-threaded receiver channel program - i.e. ALL your receiver channels are going through this way.
If this is an issue then it would be safest to stop and start your queue manager. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ajith_rajan |
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 1:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 05 Sep 2003 Posts: 32
|
The Job name as u said is a hexadecimal value. Can I use the unix kill command and pass this value as the argument to kill the process. Would this bring the channels to the Stopped state as desired. Kindly confirm.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dgolding |
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 1:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 16 May 2001 Posts: 668 Location: Switzerland
|
It should - but ALL your receiver channels will die. It's not the recommended way of doing things of but if stop chl mode(force) isn't working, there is probably not much more you can do, apart from stopping the queue manager.
Try a kill -1, wait a bit (it almost certainly won't work) then try a kill -9.
It's up to you. Depending on how bad the problem is. I can't recommend you one way or the other - you must make the decision. Good luck!
Don't forget, once you have the receiver channel in a STOPPED state, you need to start it again on BOTH sides.
E&OE  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ajith_rajan |
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 2:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 05 Sep 2003 Posts: 32
|
Thanks a lot. I would prefer going for a clean restart of the queue managers instead of process killing option. Anyway, thanks a lot for all your help on this.
Regards. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|