Author |
Message
|
OLearyocas |
Posted: Wed May 25, 2005 12:38 pm Post subject: Setting Synchornization for a NOOP activity |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 May 2005 Posts: 3 Location: Ohio
|
I ran into an issue where a previously working NOOP activity at start of process stopped exiting automatically. Upon examing that activity against others I noted that the synchronization setting had changed from chained to nested. Upon switching back and moving change into runtime it began to operate normally.
Looking through Buildtime and activity properties for the NOOP activity I don't see a psecific setting that I change to indicate nested or chained. I can edit the fdl directly, but don't want to change something inadvertently while making other changes. How does that property get set in Buildtime? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Wed May 25, 2005 12:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
That setting is based on the Mode: Synchronous or Asynchronous that is on the Execution Tab of the Program Activity.
If you choose Synchronous you will get
Code: |
SYNCHRONIZATION NESTED |
If you choose Asynchronous you will get
Code: |
SYNCHRONIZATION CHAINED |
_________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
OLearyocas |
Posted: Thu May 26, 2005 4:26 am Post subject: Synchronous or asynch not available, though |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 May 2005 Posts: 3 Location: Ohio
|
In both the chained and nested versions of this decision activity the check box for User program execution agent is checked, which grays out the option of choosing either synch or asynch in the mode section of the properties for those activites. How does that impact the resulting synchro setting that gets exported? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu May 26, 2005 5:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
I have never done what you are suggesting... the doc for EmptyActivity pretty clearly states that the program must be a UPES, i.e you need to have that check removed. I do not know from my experience what the affect is, but based on your experience I would say not good.  _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqmhr |
Posted: Thu May 26, 2005 6:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 28 Dec 2004 Posts: 105
|
In Workbench 4.2.4 task properties, when the options Synchronous/Asynchronous are grayed out when the option "User PEA" is checked. The impact is, the generated FDL has the line "SYNCHRONIZATION NESTED" for the activity. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|