Author |
Message
|
koko |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 7:20 am Post subject: Process - Data structure associativity |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 26 Sep 2003 Posts: 206
|
I have a process "Process 1" with "NameStruct". This NameStruct has two fields , FirstName and LastName .
Now I want to come up with a "Process 2" which uses the same "NameStruct". But here I would like to add a new member, MiddleName to the "NameStruct".
Can I do something like this where all Process 1's use a Namestruct with two fields and all process 2's use the Namestruct with three fields??
Or is it better to come up with a new datastructure ??
I tried to import the flow and it seems to be working as I wanted it. But I am not sure if it has any glitches which show up later. _________________ Thanks
Koko |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kotha |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 7:46 am Post subject: Re: Process - Data structure associativity |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
koko wrote: |
Can I do something like this where all Process 1's use a Namestruct with two fields and all process 2's use the Namestruct with three fields??
|
i dont understand the above line. where do you mention?.
My suggestion: create another data structure with process1's data structure as a variable. and assign it process2. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 8:12 am Post subject: Re: Process - Data structure associativity |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
koko wrote: |
I tried to import the flow and it seems to be working as I wanted it. But I am not sure if it has any glitches which show up later. |
Export the FDL from runtime and see how many copies of datastructures it has?
It might work, because Process1 is using two of the three field and Process2 is using 3 of the 3 files. But it is not a good idea to implement this I guess. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 8:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
Quote: |
It might work, because Process1 is using two of the three field and Process2 is using 3 of the 3 files. But it is not a good idea to implement this I guess. |
It will work for process1 as venny said. Also it is a well adopted practice and I think these extra attributes that are not used are referred to as 'fillers'. This helps you to have inflight processes get new data if needed. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
koko |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 10:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 26 Sep 2003 Posts: 206
|
As I expected the datastructure does have three fields.
But my question is more in relation with process creation.
I am creating and starting the instances by putting a msg on qs.
Can I create the process1 by putting a XML msg with two fields and process 2 with xML msg with three fileds??
I checked the thinclient and the two processes have their own fields.
Ratan,
Do you think I will do fine here  _________________ Thanks
Koko |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 11:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
Quote: |
Can I create the process1 by putting a XML msg with two fields and process 2 with xML msg with three fileds?? |
Yes, As long as both your processes have same data structure with 3 fields. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|