Author |
Message
|
matoh |
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 12:37 am Post subject: Getting a subflow parameter into a message header? |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 04 Mar 2005 Posts: 26
|
I want to capture some common flow functionality in a subflow. But I want to set a specific message header line of the messages entering that flow depending on what instance of the subflow that was used.
Is there any way of getting e.g. a compute node constant, a mapping node mapping line, or anything that can alter a message header line as a configurable parameter for that subflow? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 3:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Have the main flow populate a fixed element in Environment. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matoh |
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 3:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 04 Mar 2005 Posts: 26
|
If I understand you correctly, I would have to put in a compute node that sets an environemnt value just before each instance of the subflow? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 3:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
matoh wrote: |
If I understand you correctly, I would have to put in a compute node that sets an environemnt value just before each instance of the subflow? |
Yes.
There is no magic accessor for getting the name of the main flow that a specific subflow is called from.
There is also no way, that I know of, to get or set node-level properties on an included subflow. It would be nice if the Input and Output nodes had configurable parameters that would get populated somewhere automatically. But, as far as I know, they don't.
But I haven't read the docs on Input/Output nodes since 2.1 _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matoh |
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 3:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 04 Mar 2005 Posts: 26
|
Quote: |
There is no magic accessor for getting the name of the main flow that a specific subflow is called from.
|
It's even worse , I need to keep track of where in the main flow the subflow was used - it can appear att several places... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 4:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
If it's appearing at several places, odds are good that there is at least one compute node before it on the same branch.
If there were a way to get the data that the Passthrough node logs from ESQL, you could include a Passthrough in your subflow, and promote it's properties.
But I don't think there's a way to get at that data. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
alexey |
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 12:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 18 Dec 2003 Posts: 62 Location: Israel
|
I'm using a plug-in node I've written, that has a configurable property that just sets a value in any referenced field (also as a property of the node) - very useful in this case: you have just to put it in your sub-flow an use property promotion .
Alexey. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hascheidl |
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 10:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 05 Jun 2006 Posts: 15
|
Hi Alexey!
Although simple, it seems to be very useful. Would you mind sharing its code? Thanks in advance. _________________ Half |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|