Author |
Message
|
kotha |
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 12:05 pm Post subject: Transition condition |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
My process has 3 activities say A,B,C. the process flow is:
A---->B (transition condition: variable1 NOT NULL)
A----->C(transition condition: variable2 NOT NULL)
when the activity A started, I assign some value to variable1 and left variable2 empty.
Only A------->B should run with above assignment, but A---------->C is also running.
any suggestions ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 12:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
My guess is that both variables were valued. Possibly to a single blank or maybe a zero length string.
How are you setting these variables? _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kotha |
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 12:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
John:
Both variables are veriable length string
and If i change one of the conditions (given below), the process is working.
A---->B (transition condition: variable1 NOT NULL)
A----->C(transition condition: variable2 = "yes")
But with this process, user has to give specific value to variable2. i am trying to avoid it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
You are missing my point...
When a member has no value set to it, it will return a 113 (Member Not Set) when you attempt to get the value. It is these members that will return a "true" to member IS NULL conditions. SO if your member is set to "" (a zero length string) a test that said member IS NOT NULL is going to return true that is what I believe is causing your issue with the transition condition. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hos |
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 03 Feb 2002 Posts: 470
|
Quote: |
if your member is set to "" (a zero length string) |
...and this is what the standard runtime client on Windows does. By the way: it is not a good idea to leave variables that are used in conditions unset. This can lead to serious system malfunctions in some situations. Use initial values instead. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kotha |
Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
hos wrote: |
By the way: it is not a good idea to leave variables that are used in conditions unset. This can lead to serious system malfunctions in some situations. Use initial values instead. |
then what is the purpose of "variable NOT NULL". This transition condition is for the process navigation. If is empty, it supposed not to navigate to that activity. If some value assigned, it should navigate to the activity. Then how will it cause serious malfunctions? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
I personally never use the IS NULL/IS NOT NULL test in transition conditions.
I can't speak for Volker, but I can tell you why I would never leave a variable used in a transition conditon in an UNSET state. Such a variable posts a message to the system log FMC22590W. Messages written to the system log require the services of the Admin server, and can slow the system down.
One of the things I always do before going into production is to scan fmcsys.log for these errors. They are indicative of a pooly designed or at least poorly tested model. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kotha |
Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
jmac wrote: |
Such a variable posts a message to the system log FMC22590W. Messages written to the system log require the services of the Admin server, and can slow the system down. |
in what manual, I can get more information about the error logs. I want to get more idea about it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
I can't tell you exactly where that particular fact is documented. You really should read all of the manuals as follows:
Concepts and Architecture: cover to cover
Getting started with Buildtime: cover to cover
Administration Guide: to cover
Istallation Guide: Parts 1, 2, 3 and your platform
Programming Guide: Part 1 and then use as reference
Getting started with Runtime: somewhat dated, but read if you use the fat client
Doc contained with the WebClient: cover to cover
I would also read the following support packs:
There are also numerous technotes that deal will MQWF, some especially targeted at logging. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kotha |
Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
John,
Thank you. It is a great help and I will check with the mentioned manuals and support packs. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|