ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Triggering

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Triggering « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
elvis_gn
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:16 am    Post subject: Triggering Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 1905
Location: Dubai

Hi,
I am using a trigger monitor on a queue.....the messages on the queue are persistent and the initiation queue is not persistent.....

The trigger is working and the threads are being stored in the initiation queue.

My program to be triggered browses the queue and removes messages based on conditions....

The problem i'm facing is everytime the program is run, threads equal to the number of messages on the queue are created on the initiation queue.

Can some one tell me when this scenario can arise......

I think something to do with my browse and get options.

int openOptions =MQC.MQOO_INQUIRE| MQC.MQOO_OUTPUT| MQC.MQOO_SET_IDENTITY_CONTEXT| MQC.MQOO_INPUT_SHARED| MQC.MQOO_BROWSE;

gmo.options = MQC.MQGMO_BROWSE_FIRST;
gmo.options = MQC.MQGMO_BROWSE_NEXT;
gmo.waitInterval = MQC.MQWI_UNLIMITED;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You are using the word "thread" in a way that makes no sense. Please clarify.

If you're concerned about the Open Input Count of the initiation queue, then your issue is with the TRIGGER MONITOR not your application. And you shouldn't be concerned with the Trigger Monitor, unless you wrote it yourself, which you shouldn't have.

If you're concerned about the Open Input Count of the application queue, then the issue has nothing to do with your GET options.

Have you considered getting training on WebSphere MQ?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nigelg
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 1046

The get options do not include a destructive get, that is, you are only browsing msgs on the triggered queue. When your app ends and closes the queue, anotther trigger msg will be written to the init q - see trigger condition 12.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Nigelg wrote:
The get options do not include a destructive get, that is, you are only browsing msgs on the triggered queue. When your app ends and closes the queue, anotther trigger msg will be written to the init q - see trigger condition 12.


Unless he's set the TrigType to DEPTH or EVERY.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elvis_gn
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 1905
Location: Dubai

i am using the trigger monitor from the services.....

I am not supposed to do a destructive get always.

I have to browse through the messages on the triggered queue and if there are multiple copies of a message then delete them.....
This is working with the optons i have currently.....

The problem is when all the messages are unique,i just browse through them and close the java application which has been triggered.

For the browse itself,for the number of messages browsed,an equal number is being put into the init queue......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
elvis_gn
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 1905
Location: Dubai

it is on EVERY......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You are trying to filter messages in place using BROWSE.

As you are discovering, this is not the best way to do it.

Particularly when you involve triggering.

The better way to do it is use another queue and do a destructive GET and PUT unique messages to the end queue.

Please review your triggering setup, and the documentation on how triggering works. This will tell you WHY your system is working the way it is.

You will then be able to figure out on your own how to solve this problem - and again, a much better way is to use another queue and a real filter pattern instead of trying to filter in place.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kman
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 309
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Quote:
if there are multiple copies of a message then delete them.....


What's this? Duplicate messages? Aren't WMQ suppose to be assuring delivery - once and once only? Why duplicate messages?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Triggering
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.