Author |
Message
|
selfown |
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 3:25 pm Post subject: MQRFH2 Headers |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 07 Jan 2005 Posts: 39
|
Hello,
Can anyone please tell me as to why MQRHF2 headers are required and how it is different from MQMD?
Thanks in Advance
Selfown |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 3:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
It's different from an MQMD because one is an MQMD and one is an MQRFH2.
They have different fields, different uses, different data they hold, and different constraints.
In other words, they're simply different. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TonyD |
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 540 Location: New Zealand
|
Further.....the MQMD is required and the MQRFH2 is not. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
The MQRFH2 header can be used to:
- Describe the message content by identifying the domain, set, type and format of the message, to the broker through the mcd folder
- Communicate the publish/subscribe command messages to the broker through the psc folder
- Transport information from the broker, in response to publish/subscribe command messages through the pcsr folder.
The MQMD is as it's name implies, the message descriptor. Among other things, it identifies the characteristics of the message. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 5:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
Also, take a look at this url _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
teal |
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 4:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 15 Dec 2004 Posts: 66
|
so by reading the url above
it appears to be saying the MQMD and MQRFH2 headers can be dumped correctly to any system it is the body that will stay in the native language for example sending a message from ebcdic will be in ebcdic but the MQMD/MQRFH2 should be utf regardless?
do you set the mqmd.format = MQRFH2... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 9:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
Quote: |
do you set the mqmd.format = MQRFH2... |
Your question is clearly answered in the 2nd paragraph of the link provided by kirani:
Quote: |
The value 'MQRFH2 ' should be put in the Format field of the preceding header (usually the MQMD). The constant MQFMT_RF_HEADER_2 is defined with this value. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
teal |
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 15 Dec 2004 Posts: 66
|
Right and that's exactly what I've done.
MQMD.format = MQRFH2
and I would like a bytes message so I put NONE in mqrfh2.format
but the true information I need - is ALL the data (rfh2header/actual message) both in EBCDIC?
Quote: |
it appears to be saying the MQMD and MQRFH2 headers can be dumped correctly to any system it is the body that will stay in the native language for example sending a message from ebcdic will be in ebcdic but the MQMD/MQRFH2 should be utf regardless?
|
thanks for your help |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
teal wrote: |
Right and that's exactly what I've done.
MQMD.format = MQRFH2
|
You should say,
Code: |
SET OutputRoot.MQMD.Format = MQFMT_RF_HEADER_2 ;
|
_________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|