ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » problem setting mcd folder in MQRFH2 header

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 problem setting mcd folder in MQRFH2 header « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
JohnMetcalfe
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:30 am    Post subject: problem setting mcd folder in MQRFH2 header Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Hi all,

I've a flow that reads & process an XML message, but uses the BLOB message domain. The flow adds an RFH2 header. As the message is actually XML, I want to set the <msd> element in the <mcd> folder to be XML. I need to do this because other multiple flows read the message (we use pub/sub), they are expecting XML (and specify this in their input nodes) but the setting in this folder determines the default parser WMQI uses to parse the message.

I've inserted code in the flow where I create the MQRFH2 header as below
Code:
SET OutputRoot.MQRFH2.mcd.Msd = 'XML';


this seems to make no difference. WMQI seems to be overwriding the setting. The message output from the flow still has the mcd folder set as below:
<mcd>
<Msd>
none
<\Msd>
<\mcd>

Before you all say the obvious, I don't want to use a ResetContentDescriptor node as the message can be quite large and this will force a unrequired parse of the message payload, which is pretty memory hungry.

Is there anyway of forcing WMQI to not overwride my settings of the mcd folder without using a RestContentDescriptor?. Help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JT
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 1564
Location: Hartford, CT.

Quote:
The <mcd> folder can contain the following elements that describe the structure of the message data in a WebSphere MQ message. They are all character strings, and are case-sensitive.

Try:
Code:
SET OutputRoot.MQRFH2.mcd.Msd = 'xml';
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tibor
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 20 May 2001
Posts: 1033
Location: Hungary

Quote:
Is there anyway of forcing WMQI to not overwride my settings of the mcd folder without using a RestContentDescriptor?. Help!


When the input node waits a BLOB message (Default/Message Domain = BLOB) then you must use an RCD node.

JT,

The mcd folder is case-sensitive but WMQI handles the Msd values in different format ('XML' or 'xml') without any problem. (BLOB/blob, MRM/mrm, too)

Tibor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JT
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 1564
Location: Hartford, CT.

Thanks for the insight.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnMetcalfe
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Thanks for the input.

There seems to be no obvious way round this, so we have inserted RCD nodes in the subscriber flows.

I have to say the way it is working is not ideal - if I explicitly specify the XML domain in the MQInput node, I think I'd prefer WMQI to take this setting in preference to that specified on the MQRFH2 mcd folder. As I see in another thread on this topic, this behaviour may lead to contact admin issues when using the MRM domain - then the mcd folder would contain the MRM message set details - see http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=5233&highlight=mcd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prasadpav
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 142

Hi,
I never tried this before, but, It is mentioned in the message broker manual (manual on message flows.pdf, Page 613, topic on Properties tree) that you can set the values for message domain, message set..etc in both properties tree and MQRFH2 mcd folder. For every node in the message flow, broker will make a check whether or not the values in the properties tree matches up with values in MQRFH2 header. If they dont match then broker will override the values in MQRFH2 header with values from Properties tree. I think this is the reason why your MQRFH2 header values are being replaced. Try setting the message domain both in Properties tree and MQRFH2 header, probably this would work. (Or) just set only in Properties tree.

-Prasad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tibor
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 20 May 2001
Posts: 1033
Location: Hungary

Prasad,

This way won't work, we'd alread tried it.

Properties.MessageSet can set by an RCD node but MQRFH2.mcd.Msd don't get this value automatically.

Tibor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » problem setting mcd folder in MQRFH2 header
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.