ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » ApplIdentityData in JMS

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 ApplIdentityData in JMS « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
kirani
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 2:46 pm    Post subject: ApplIdentityData in JMS Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

I am not sure if there is any field in JMS header that will be mapped to MQMD.ApplIdentityData. We use this field for routing message in the Broker, but the new application is planning on using JMS instaead of MQ Java API. I am trying to figure out how I can get this inforamtion. I can also do the routing based on MQMD.ReplyToQ and ReplyToQMgr, but I think these fields don't exist in JMS either. I don't want to put any additional logic (at this point) in my program to handle JMS client apps.

Has anyone tried passing this data into different fields in JMS header?
_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Michael Dag
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 2607
Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)

Kirani,
the MQMD.ApplIdentityData can not be set by a JMS application.
But as far as I understood the same field can be set in MQRFH2 header passed when sending JMS -> JMS messages.

My application was JMS on one end and MQ native on the other so it was a no go and had to use a specific channel and a message exit to 'get the job done' ...
_________________
Michael



MQSystems Facebook page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Michael Dag
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 2607
Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)

see also http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=15223&highlight=applidentitydata+jms
_________________
Michael



MQSystems Facebook page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=6899&highlight=jms
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kirani
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

Thanks guys. It looks like I will have to go back to the Client application and suggest them to use native MQ Java API.
_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

kirani wrote:
I can also do the routing based on MQMD.ReplyToQ and ReplyToQMgr, but I think these fields don't exist in JMS either

This is so not true. The information is just expressed a little bit differently:
message.setJMSReplyto(JMSDestination myqueue). The reply to qmgr gets filled in automatically if blank.

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kirani
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

So you are saying that if the programmer uses this method then I will see the values in MQMD.ReplyToQ field?
_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bower5932
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

Take a look at the mqjmsreq.java and mqjmssrv.java at:

http://www.developer.ibm.com/tech/sampmq.html

The req program passes a message over to the server which then replies back. The req program uses the setJMSReply method to get the underlying replyto qmgr/queue filled in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
EddieA
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

Quote:
So you are saying that if the programmer uses this method then I will see the values in MQMD.ReplyToQ field

No, the ReplyTo information is stored in the JMS Folder in the RFH2.

Cheers,
_________________
Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

I thought it was stored in both places (ie, the MQMD and the RFH2)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

It gets put into the MQMD header for sure if the queue has been defined for a non JMS target in JNDI(We use this and it works)

Don't know whether it gets put into both if the RFH2 Header is present.

Thanks
F.J.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » ApplIdentityData in JMS
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.