|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Request / Response WMQI flows and CODs |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
DELLIPIZ |
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 2:11 pm Post subject: Request / Response WMQI flows and CODs |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 70
|
Hi,
I have, what I'm sure is a stupid question about request /response messages and CODs
I have a system, call it SystemA, sending a request to SystemB.
And that request is going to go through WMQI for transformation before it goes to SystemB. SystemA is going to put the reply-to-queue manager and reply-to-queue name, and that information is going to be passed along through WMQI and then to SystemB. SystemB will process the request, and send the response back through WMQI with the initial reply-to information still in the MQMD. (First of all, I am assuming that I could carry the reply-to information up until this point. Is that valid?) Then WMQI could use the 'Reply to Queue' option in the MQOutput node to know that is should go do THAT queue on SystemA. Is that correct????
If so, that leads to my next question. SystemA wants to get a COD when the request is received by SystemB. If I use that reply-to-queue option to tell WMQI where to send the 'real' response, how does SystemA know where the COD should be sent to? Is that even possible?
Thanks! -Lori |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
DELLIPIZ wrote: |
First of all, I am assuming that I could carry the reply-to information up until this point. Is that valid?
|
Yes. You can copy these values from input message header in your message flow. For example, in your compute node say,
Code: |
SET OutputRoot.MQMD.ReplyToQ = InputRoot.MQMD.ReplyToQ;
SET OutputRoot.MQMD.ReplyToQMgr = InputRoot.MQMD.ReplyToQMgr;
|
DELLIPIZ wrote: |
Then WMQI could use the 'Reply to Queue' option in the MQOutput node to know that is should go do THAT queue on SystemA. Is that correct????
|
Yes. You can set your Reply-to-queue info in DestiantionList and configure the MQOutput node of your reply message flow to use this DestinationList.
DELLIPIZ wrote: |
If I use that reply-to-queue option to tell WMQI where to send the 'real' response, how does SystemA know where the COD should be sent to? Is that even possible?
|
Yes, it's possible, but can your application running on System A accept COD messages and Reply messages on the same queue? They can differentiate them using MQMD.Feedback field, correct? _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
through WMQI and then to SystemB. SystemB will process the request, and send the response back through WMQI |
So, all the routing back to WMQI from SystemB will have to be "known" queues. It can't use the ReplyTo QM/Queue.
Quote: |
You can copy these values from input message header in your message flow |
Do you need to do this explicitly. Aren't these fields copied intact as part of the MQMD.
Quote: |
SystemA wants to get a COD when the request is received by SystemB |
In which case, this must be requested by the Broker. If SystemA requests it, then when the Broker reads the message you will get the COD. Or you will have to wait for 2 CODs. One from the Broker and one from SystemB. (But don't assume that the first one you get is from the Broker ).
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DELLIPIZ |
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 5:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 70
|
I'm not familiar with the feedback field. So I guess it's not common to get both the response and the COD on the same queue? There is no way to have the COD go to one queue and the response to another, right?
Thanks again! -Lori |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 5:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
There is no way to have the COD go to one queue and the response to another, right |
Not if the receiving application uses the ReplyToQM/Queue to send it's reply.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|