ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » two queue managers or clustering

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 two queue managers or clustering « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Manikandan
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 2:27 am    Post subject: two queue managers or clustering Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 78

Actually we are planning to use two queue managers on two seperate sun boxes to process our application requests.

How to I manage the message if one of the queue managers/server goes down?

should I write an application that is intelligent enough to handle such a scenario?

your suggestions pls.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csmith28
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

Yes code the load balancing intelligence into the application. Clustering will only work if the applications are on the same server as the MQManager and the Application is interacting with the MQManager in BINDING mode.
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anirud
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Vermont

I am not sure if I understood your question right... here is what I think

If you are sending messages between these two queue managers, send them as persistent messages. Even if the receiving queue manager goes down, there will be no loss of data (the message will be sitting on the transmission queue).

gurus correct me if I am wrong.


Last edited by Anirud on Tue Jul 19, 2005 8:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
csmith28
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

Anirud wrote:
I am not sure if I understood your question right... here is what I think

If you are sending messages between these two queue managers, send them as persistent messages. Even if the receiving queue manager goes down, there will be no loss of data (the message will be sitting on the transmission queue).

guru's correct me if I am wrong.


My guess is that he will have two Application Servers with a Clustered Application and two MQManager Servers in an MQSeries Tier. Applications connecting to MQManagers in Client Mode can't take advantage of any of the benifits of MQClustering.
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manikandan
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 78

I am running weblogic and MQ on a single machine.
My application is deployed in the weblogic.

requests hit the servlet and then my code puts and gets messages from queue.

Here I have a load balanced weblogic but i have individual two MQ Qmgrs one on each server.

how should be the code like.What should be the logic for the code.
Also I have only 1 mainframe which responds to either of the sun machines.

How should I then configure,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siliconfish
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 12 Aug 2002
Posts: 203
Location: USA

You can setup a new gateway queue manager lets assume it as QM1 to which the weblogic app lication can connect as a client and put the messages. this QM1 is clustered with two qmgrs on solaris boxes having qmgrs QMA and QMB each have a request queue with the same name Q.REQ and this will be visible from QM1. QMA and QMB will be connected to the Mainframe qmgr MQMF.
The Weblogic application connects to QM1 and puts the requests to the cluster queue Q.REQ and it will be sent to QMA or QMB.
So in this case even if one of your qmanager QMA/QMB is down the request will be processed by the other queue manager. and also the both the queue managers can be used for load balancing.
_________________
siliconfish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manikandan
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 78

But I do not have clustering.I have one Qmgr on each machine then how will I take up the task
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siliconfish
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 12 Aug 2002
Posts: 203
Location: USA

ok - I have a question? What do you mean by load balanced weblogic app server. can you provide a brief explanation? Are you using hardware clustering like veritas to load balance weblogic?

If you are using hardware clustering for weblogic, u can do the same for MQ also.

Also let me explain what I understood about your architecture.
You have a SolarisA and SolarisB each of them have a Weblogic app server and an MQ Server. Both of the queue managers on solars are connected to Mainframe queue manager. correct me if I am wrong.
_________________
siliconfish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manikandan
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 78

yes you are right,

there are two solaris boxes with both the machines running weblogic and MQ series.

With here the weblogic is load balanced and I will be hitting the application deployed on weblogic.

But my MQ is not load balanced,the two servers have standalone MQ installations and they have one Queue Manager configured each.

Now how will I make my application choose if the first queue manager is not present.
Also,I have one mainframe running at the back to serve the MQ requests from the other end.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siliconfish
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 12 Aug 2002
Posts: 203
Location: USA

You would have used Load Balancing with a Proxy Plug-in or hardware load balancing solution for Weblogic.

The load balancing has to be done in the same way for MQSeries also.

Use clustering as I have mentioned in my earlier post for load balancing.

If you are looking for failover support in MQ you must use hardware clustering.
_________________
siliconfish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csmith28
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

Manikandan wrote:
yes you are right,

there are two solaris boxes with both the machines running weblogic and MQ series.

With here the weblogic is load balanced and I will be hitting the application deployed on weblogic.

But my MQ is not load balanced,the two servers have standalone MQ installations and they have one Queue Manager configured each.

Now how will I make my application choose if the first queue manager is not present.
Also,I have one mainframe running at the back to serve the MQ requests from the other end.


Well I am not a WebLogic Programmer so I really can't help much the code. Like I said before. If the application is connecting as a Client from a remote server clustering the MQManagers becomes a moot point.

A work around that I have seen is to Load Balance at the Web-Tier so that each application gets 50% of the traffic (round robin). Then point the Application on Server A to QMGR_A and the Application on Server B to QMGR_B. Relying on the application for load balancing and giving redundancy of having two data threads so if Application A or QMGR_A fails or needs to be taken down to facilitate a Change Application B and QMGR_B can continue to process.
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csmith28
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

siliconfish wrote:
You can setup a new gateway queue manager lets assume it as QM1 to which the weblogic app lication can connect as a client and put the messages. this QM1 is clustered with two qmgrs on solaris boxes having qmgrs QMA and QMB each have a request queue with the same name Q.REQ and this will be visible from QM1. QMA and QMB will be connected to the Mainframe qmgr MQMF.
The Weblogic application connects to QM1 and puts the requests to the cluster queue Q.REQ and it will be sent to QMA or QMB.
So in this case even if one of your qmanager QMA/QMB is down the request will be processed by the other queue manager. and also the both the queue managers can be used for load balancing.


Yeah except, using a Gateway MQManager sets up a single point of failure.

If QM1 goes down. Both applications loose connectivity to the Mainframe because AppServer A and B can't get the messages to QMA or QMB.
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » two queue managers or clustering
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.