|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
JSP |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
CHF |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 6:19 am Post subject: JSP |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 16 Dec 2003 Posts: 297
|
All,
I am putting a sample version of my process here. I have a process called "TestProcA", which has 3 activities P, Q, and R. The sequence of the activities is P-->Q-->R. P, Q and R all are UPES activities and takes about only a second to complete all of these 3 activities and so the process. The process and all the activities uses a simple data structure called "DS" which has data members F1, and F2. DS is the input and output container for all of them. Lets say I have an user S1 who can start this process.
Presently this process works as follows.
1) First user "S1" logs into the workflow. His login page (JSP) will be displayed with fields F1 and F2, where he can input some values.
2) Once after he fills in the values in these two fields and hit on submit button, I am using Java API to start the process instance.
3) The whole process will be completed in a second after he hit that submit button.
4) Presently we have that Login JSP for user S1 is designed such that, after he hit that submit button, the page will be refreshed and takes him back to that default screen where he can input the values to start a new request.
Now I have a new requirement as follows.
Once after he submitted his first request, the page should refresh, and the screen after refresh should display a message something like "The value of F1 at the output of the process you just submitted is xxxxx" and also below that message the default screen where he can input the values of F1 and F2 for a new process to create a new request. The value of xxxxx in that message should be the value of F1 in the sink of that process.
Can you please give me your valuable suggestions regarding this.
1) Is using Global Container a solution for this?
2) If Yes, whats the hit on performance and the speed of the execution?
3) Can you give me your ideas on the solutions for this requirement if not Global Container.
Thanks in Advance. _________________ CHF  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 6:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
1) Is using Global Container a solution for this?
No
I dont think this is what WF is used for. What you want seems to be a micro-flow.
I think you have to keep the finished processes to retrieve the output of the Process.
Keep checking fot the process to go into finished state and get the o/p container. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 7:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
It's possible I don't understand the situation, but let me give it a stab based on what I think you are asking.
Sounds to me like you want to know what is in the Sink of the process after the process ends.
There is a big flaw here, in that once the process ends the data is gone (by default). You could indicate that you wish to keep finished process instances, or you could add an additional step at the end that reports back the value you are interested in. If you keep finished items, you could even use the GDC. However, no matter what you choose to do, you are going to have to access either the Process output container (sink) or GDC to get the data.
One other thing you might want to have a look at, is using the ExecuteProcess() API instead of CreateAndStart. In the case of a fully automated process, this may give you what you are looking for.
Again, I am not sure I understand the problem, so I may be off base with all of this.
GOOD LUCK _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
CHF |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 7:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 16 Dec 2003 Posts: 297
|
Thanks for your replies Ratan & JMac.
Ratan:
My initial thought when I mentioned GDC was to keep the finished processes. Now I came to confirmation. Thanks.
JMac:
You understand my problem correctly. I will think about using ExecuteProcess() API.
Once again thanks for your inputs and will keep posted. _________________ CHF  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|