ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Changing Message Length of the input queue

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Changing Message Length of the input queue « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
javaforvivek
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:55 am    Post subject: Changing Message Length of the input queue Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 282
Location: Pune,India

Hi,
I am using WMQ5.3
I am trying to put a very large message of size 60MB on a local queue.
I have changed Maximum Message Length property for Queue and SVRCONN to 99MB. Still I am not able to put the message. Are there any other settings I need to modify??
_________________
Vivek
------------------------------------------------------
...when you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
JasonE
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Hursley

qmgr has maxmsgl too...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manikandan
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 78

You will also have to check the Qmgr limitation too!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nigelg
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 1046

You cannot do this if you are using the MQSERVER method of connecting the client. Tihs uses the default MAXMSGL of 4Mb and cannot be changed. EITHER:
Create a CLNTCONN channel with a MAXMSGL of 99MB and copy the AMQCLCHL.TAB file to the client
OR:
Connect to the qmgr using MQCONNX and pass an MQCD to MQCONNX, where the MAXMSGL is 99Mb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3264
Location: London, ON Canada

Nigelg,

Yes, you CAN use MQSERVER and send messages larger than 4MB.

There are 3 steps that need to be done to allow 99MB messages (99MB = 103809024):
Code:
ALTER QMGR MAXMSGL(103809024)
ALTER CHL(TESTQM_SVR.CH01) CHLTYPE(SVRCONN) MAXMSGL(103809024)
ALTER Q(TEST1) MAXMSGL(103809024)

Done. Now your client application can connect to the 'TESTQM_SVR.CH01' SVRCONN channl and put messages up to 99MB in size.

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
csmith28
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

You have to modify the MAXMSGL for the QManager itself, the SYSTEM.DEAD.LETTER.QUEUE the SRVCONN channel and any other channels that message will hit along with any local Queues that the message will encounter.
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kirani
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

Don't forget the Max length on Transmission Queue.
_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3264
Location: London, ON Canada

csmith28 & kirani,

The original question asked about the length of a local queue & svrconn channel. So, you only need to do the 3 steps I listed.

But if his question had been for a remote queue & a svrconn channel then it is true that both the transmission queue and the dead letter queue's max size would need to be increased (DLQ of the REMOTE queue manager.)

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
javaforvivek
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 282
Location: Pune,India

Hi,
Thanks for all the suggestions, and I am able to put a message on the queue.
Also, thanks for the extensions suggested for using remote queue definitions for such large messages.
_________________
Vivek
------------------------------------------------------
...when you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
javaforvivek
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 282
Location: Pune,India

Hi,
In connection with my earlier reply,
My application uses MQBase-Java client to put message to the queue. As the file is of size 60MB, when I try to use following code,
Code:

xmlFile = new File(filePath + fileName);
RandomAccessFile xmlRandomFile = new RandomAccessFile(xmlFile,"rw");
StringBuffer xmlBuffer = new StringBuffer();
String line = xmlRandomFile.readLine();
while(line != null)
{
        xmlBuffer.append(line);
        line = xmlRandomFile.readLine();
}
xmlRandomFile.close();
MQMessage localMsg = new MQMessage();
localMsg.writeString(xmlBuffer.toString());

It gives OutOfMemory Error.
What code should I include to have Segmentation of Message (physical message size 4MB each)?
Is it available in the Code Repository here?
_________________
Vivek
------------------------------------------------------
...when you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
PGoodhart
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 278
Location: Harrisburg PA

You are actually having issues with the buffer in Java now. This is not truly an MQ issue. Do you have 60MB of free memory allocated to the JVM?
_________________
Patrick Goodhart
MQ Admin/Web Developer/Consultant
WebSphere Application Server Admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3264
Location: London, ON Canada

Hi,

Yes, you have a memory issue. The default heap size for a JVM is 64MB (I think). So you should increase the minimum (Xms) and the maximum (Xmx) heap size to whatever you requre.

Time to read the JVM options manual.

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Changing Message Length of the input queue
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.