Author |
Message
|
Manikandan |
Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:28 pm Post subject: MQ series log |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 78
|
Which are the log files which required to be monitored.
What are the debugging levels in log.
If I am transmitting thousands of messages and if one transaction goes wrong,how do I go about it!
How to enable like I find out the transaction and the problem easily.
Thanks, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JasonE |
Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 12:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 03 Nov 2003 Posts: 1220 Location: Hursley
|
Monitor the amqerr0*.log files, written in 2 places:
The <mqm>\errors, where global errs are written to
The <mqm>\qmgrs\<qmname>\errors, where qmgr specific msgs go
Also watch out for *.FDC files in the <mqm>\errors directory, as these are the more serious errors
This monitors for MQ errors - As to watching for one message/transaction failing from thousands... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 4:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Actually, really, you need to make sure that your applications log everything that goes wrong.
You can't be sure that you'll get enough information in the MQ error logs to tell you... well, anything. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Manikandan |
Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 5:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 78
|
I will have 10-15 application using this Qmgr.
I am thinking to allocate a seperate queue to each of the applications.Please advise on this!
Assume that each application has 1000 -5000 transactions perday it is a huge size of log.
Just assume that some of the application transactions have gone lost on the MQ side.
Can I configure seperate logs for each queue,then use a format to find out the problem?
Please advise on the same. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Manikandan wrote: |
I will have 10-15 application using this Qmgr.
I am thinking to allocate a seperate queue to each of the applications.Please advise on this! |
It can be a good idea. It can be a bad idea.
It depends on the application.
Manikandan wrote: |
Assume that each application has 1000 -5000 transactions perday it is a huge size of log. |
Yes.
And?
If you need the information, you need the information.
Manikandan wrote: |
Just assume that some of the application transactions have gone lost on the MQ side. |
They don't. If you set things up properly.
Manikandan wrote: |
Can I configure seperate logs for each queue,then use a format to find out the problem?
Please advise on the same. |
Not MQSeries logs, no.
Transaction logging and error logging is really an APPLICATION issue, not a system issue.
Well, actually, it's an Enterprise Infrastructure issue, not a system issue.
Either way, don't look for MQSeries to solve this for you, out of the box.
There are errors that can occur in MQSeries, that will show up in the MQSeries logs and that you need to monitor for.
But almost all of the problems you will ever have with MQSeries will be application issues. And most of those WON'T show up in the MQSeries logs. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
I really love this. No really. I love it. It's great.
An application fails and the letter "M" and/or "Q" appears in the error output, (they don't even have to appear together) as in MQ and everyone immediately assumes that it is an MQSeries problem.
If you are limited to one MQServer, create one MQManager and a separate set of Queues and SDR/RCVR Channels for each application along with a SRVCONN Channel for each application assuming that the applications will have a Client relationship with the MQManager. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 4:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
csmith28 wrote: |
I really love this. No really. I love it. It's great.
An application fails and the letter "M" and/or "Q" appears in the error output, (they don't even have to appear together) as in MQ and everyone immediately assumes that it is an MQSeries problem. |
Yes. It's a joy, actually. It allows the MQ Administrator to meet everyone else, and then learn how to do their job.
csmith28 wrote: |
If you are limited to one MQServer, create one MQManager and a separate set of Queues and SDR/RCVR Channels for each application along with a SRVCONN Channel for each application assuming that the applications will have a Client relationship with the MQManager. |
Care to expound on this? It's not what I'd do... but I'm interested in your reasons. Oh. Wait.
I thought you meant create {one queue manager, set of queues, set of channels} for each application. You meant one queue manager total, and then {set of queues, set of channels} for each application. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Manikandan |
Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 78
|
Only one QMgr but seperate Queue for each application.That is what I am thinking off.
Why should I have a seperate channel for each application.I am thinking to use the single channel for all the apps but seperate queues.
Advise! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bbburson |
Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 06 Jan 2004 Posts: 378 Location: Nowhere near a queue manager
|
Quote: |
Why should I have a seperate channel for each application.I am thinking to use the single channel for all the apps but seperate queues |
We set up separate SVRCONN channels for each appl and assign different MCAUSERs to them. That way we can control access to the queues with setmqaut.
A current project is to try to move to SSL channels and client connection tables; looks like we will be forced to use ONE channel per queue manager in this setup, so we will have to write security exits to handle the userid assignments. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
bbburson wrote: |
A current project is to try to move to SSL channels and client connection tables; looks like we will be forced to use ONE channel per queue manager in this setup, so we will have to write security exits to handle the userid assignments. |
I wouldn't think you would be forced to have only one channel. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 3:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
If your MQManager has a relationship with a remote MQManager setting up separate SDR/RCVR channel pairs and XMITQ's eliminates a possible single point of failure.
Further if you document what channels and queues belong to what applications and you start having problem you will know which application is having problems.
I walked into a real mess in my current position where one of my adopted MQManagers is serving roughly sixteen hi-volume production applications with a single XMITQ SDR/RCVR RCVR/SDR set and this has caused........ problems. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 3:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Manikandan wrote: |
Only one QMgr but seperate Queue for each application.That is what I am thinking off.
Why should I have a seperate channel for each application.I am thinking to use the single channel for all the apps but seperate queues.
Advise! |
With separate channels for each application it will allow you to identify any offending applications immediatly based on which channel is failing or otherwise being impacted.
For example. Not long ago I had a problem with an application that was sending multiple Tranmission Sequence Headers in a single message. I don't know if you've ever experienced this before but when this hap pens the MQManager doesn't handle it very gracefully. When this happens the MQManager behaves in much the same way that AIX behaves when it runs out of Paging Space. When AIX runs out of paging the OS will start killing of processes at random in a desparate attempt to prevent a reboot. Well when your MQManager gets a message with more than one TSH it starts randomly killing off its own channels.
It took quite a while (including a number of sleepless nights on trouble bridges) to isolate the problem because the application in question was using a the same SRVCONN channel MR.PROD.ALLSRVS.CL01 as a number of other applications. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Manikandan |
Posted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 78
|
Is there a way where I can configure the MQ to use the other channel is one is not active/failed? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Nigelg |
Posted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 5:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 02 Aug 2004 Posts: 1046
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Manikandan |
Posted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 11:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 78
|
If I create seperate Queues & channels for each application,how do I point each application to the respective channel.
Is there a way I can point a queue to a channel? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|