Author |
Message
|
subho |
Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:18 am Post subject: Junk characters getting written in the Queue |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 3
|
Hi
I am trying to "put" some text into the queue. When i log into Mainframe and check the queue, the message looks to be encrypted in some way.
Do i have to specify something in my DotNet code?
My code is somewhat like
message = "testing"
msgLen = message.Length
If (msgLen > 0) Then
'* put the next message to the queue
mqMsg = New MQMessage
mqMsg.WriteString(message)
mqMsg.Format = MQC.MQFMT_STRING
mqPutMsgOpts = New MQPutMessageOptions
Try
mqQueue.Put(mqMsg, mqPutMsgOpts) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
My guess would be that you aren't specify MQGMO_CONVERT on your MQGET on the mainframe. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
subho |
Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 11:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 3
|
Hi,
I am not doing any "GET" to retrieve the message. As of now I just put the message. When I check in Mainframe, it gets written in some encrypted form. Before doing a "PUT" can i specify something, so that it gets written in clear text.
I am very new to MQseries.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 11:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
On the channel to mainframe you can specify the convert attribute to yes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
offshore |
Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 12:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 20 Jun 2002 Posts: 222
|
what software are you using to view the message on the mainframe?
i agree with everyone, the message is proably still in ASCII and z/OS is EBCIDC. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
subho |
Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 12:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 3
|
I am using Info Express to view in Mainframe.
Can anybody provide some sample code for this fix ?
TIA
Subho |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 2:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
In Java JMS we are setting the ccsid of the remote queue to the mainframe. Our 2.1 zOS version seems to have trouble doing an open with convert option: qmgr is on ccsid 500 and the MF is on 37...
Check if you can set it in .NET and set it to either 500 or 37. (Mainframe code page values CCSID=character code set id.)
If you use MO71 or MO72 support packs you should be able to see it in clear...
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|