ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportrunmqsc weirdness

Post new topicReply to topic
runmqsc weirdness View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
bduncan
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2001 11:45 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

So here's a good one... Why is it that when we ALTER or DISPLAY a channel, we have to specify the CHLTYPE attribute or it won't work? I was under the impression that this was because you could have a SDR and RCVR channel with the same name (don't ask me why you'd want this) and by forcing you to use the CHLTYPE attribute the Queue Manager could distinguish between the two. But then I noticed something funny today. If you issue a DELETE CHANNEL command you don't have to specify CHLTYPE. In fact, if you do, it gives you an error. So now I can't think of any good reason why some commands require CHLTYPE. Any ideas?



_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
royr
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2001 1:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 30 Jun 2001
Posts: 65
Location: Israel

It could be due to the syntax checking scheme RUNMQSC uses internally. Valid syntax for the DEFINE and ALTER commands differs between channel types, as different parameters can be used.



[ This Message was edited by: royr on 2001-08-01 02:25 ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bduncan
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2001 3:23 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

Hmm... that sounds like a pretty good theory. But you'd think on the DISPLAY and ALTER commands the channel already exists so the Queue Manager should just look at it and see what type of channel it is, and then parse the DISPLAY or ALTER command accordingly. But your theory seems to make most sense on DEFINE CHANNEL, because you can define a sender channel by only providing parameters that a receiver channel would have. The sender channel wouldn't function of course, but the point is, you'd still expect it to be a sender channel - and not be defined as a receiver channel simply because you neglected to specify sender-specific attributes like CONNAME. Hmm... Oh well, I guess we could always chalk it up to the whim of the MQSeries developers


_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
royr
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2001 12:12 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 30 Jun 2001
Posts: 65
Location: Israel

You don't have to specify the channel type for the DISPLAY command!
As for the ALTER command: RUNMQSC probably implements a single syntax validity check, which is done during input parsing, and before any MQ resources are accessed. This separates the MQ logic from any input-specific processing.
If you issue an ALTER command with no CHLTYPE parameter, RUNMQSC would have to parse the beginning of the command, access MQ to check the channel type, and then parse the rest of the command to check the other parameters' validity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bduncan
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2001 10:14 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

hmm. I don't know why I said DISPLAY. I was only pointing out the difference between ALTER and DELETE. But I did test my theory about having different types of channels with the same name (both a sender and receiver) and as expected, MQSeries doesn't let you do this. So you are probably right, it simply requires the channel type during an alter so as to speed up the process, rather than determining what type of channel it is itself. But seeing as how you can't make a sender channel a receiver channel and vice-versa using the ALTER command, it doesn't make much sense forcing the user to specify it. I wouldn't mind waiting the extra millisecond for MQSeries to figure it out for me


_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportrunmqsc weirdness
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.