|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
XML to CWF integer field sizes |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
bpugh |
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 10:25 am Post subject: XML to CWF integer field sizes |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 27 Apr 2004 Posts: 24 Location: St. Louis, MO
|
Is there an easy way to handle differences in the size of integer or decimal fields when moving from XML to COBOL copybook?
For example, when I define a field as "integer" in XML, it is valid to receive something like
<intgrFld>123456</intgrFld>
But what if the COBOL copybook I am moving that to defines the field as PIC 9(03)?
When I SET cobol_field = InputBody.intgrFld I get an error.
The only thing I can think of is to move the data to a string field and then use the SUBSTRING function. But I dread the thought of having to do that for every integer field in my copybook. Is there an easier way? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 11:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
In your example, you are taking a 6 digit field and moving it to a 3 digit result. Is that really what you want.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bpugh |
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 11:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 27 Apr 2004 Posts: 24 Location: St. Louis, MO
|
My database field in this example is defined as being a 3 digit number, so I can't give it a value of 123456. I would hope that someone sending me the XML wouldn't give me such a number, but you never know what people will do. I don't want the whole message flow to abend as it is doing now. I would rather let it update with "123" or "0" (or some other valid value) and let the user fix it after the update has taken place. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
It sounds as if you need some validation on your input message. You'll need to use MRM XML for parsing the input document.
Quote: |
I would rather let it update with "123" or "0" (or some other valid value) and let the user fix it after the update has taken place |
...but the user would need to be told, otherwise how would they know that the database had been incorrectly populated? If you use MRM XML with validation, you can set the validation action so that the message flow continues after a validation error, but a warning is written to the system event log. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|