Author |
Message
|
paulgroo |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 3:16 am Post subject: Corrupt Messages in MQSeries |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 07 Jul 2005 Posts: 138 Location: Ireland
|
Hi,
We have a Java application putting messages from an iSeries machine (WebSphereMQ5.3) to a Windows Machine (WebSphereMQ5.3). Messages of several hundred Mb can be sent successfully but when we try to send messages of over 2Gb, the message seems to get corrupt and writes the following error in the AMQ log. Has anyone experienced this before, or heard of a simular problem? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
- The queue listed below exists with the correct permissions but the queue manager name seems to be getting a 'Ã ' appended to the name for some reason...
AMQ9599: Program could not open queue manager object.
EXPLANATION:
The attempt to open either the queue or queue manager object
'LQ.DWH.NLLPCP01.DATA_FMQ_AU.P' on queue manager 'NLLPCP01
à ' by user '' failed with reason code 2086.
ACTION:
Ensure that the queue is available and retry the operation. If the message is
from a remote Queue Manager, check the Message Channel Agent User Identifier
has the correct authority. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 3:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
paulgroo wrote: |
Messages of several hundred Mb can be sent successfully |
You can not create a single message that is larger than 100Mb.
You may, perhaps, be using segmentation or grouping?
paulgroo wrote: |
- The queue listed below exists with the correct permissions but the queue manager name seems to be getting a 'Ã ' appended to the name for some reason... |
What language is your sending program written in? Are you making sure that the string you are putting into the queue manager name in the MQMD is empty? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paulgroo |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 5:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 07 Jul 2005 Posts: 138 Location: Ireland
|
Hi again,
Yes, we are segmenting the messages within the application. We can set the parameter for the file size that we want the message broken into. at the moment we have the message size set to 1024Kb. on the destination side we retrieve the messages in batch sizes of 50. The first 50 messages get moved from the queue onto the file system wothout any problem and then the second batch of 50 fails about halfway through.
The extra 'Ã ' character seems to be what's causing the failure (I think).
We have a Rexx script starting the process off (on the iSeries side) which executes a java program to break the file up and store it to the queue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kingsley |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 6:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 30 Sep 2001 Posts: 175 Location: Hursley
|
I think the maximum size of the Queue on Windows and Unix is 2GB. If the combined size of Messages on the Queue is crossing 2GB, you should get a Reason Code MQRC_RESOURCE_PROBLEM (I could'nt remember).
Check the reason code. The Reason code is definitely not zero. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 6:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
kingsley wrote: |
I think the maximum size of the Queue on Windows and Unix is 2GB. |
Not since an early CSD of 5.3. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 8:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
On UNIX, you need to enable thr Large Files option to have queues larger than 2 GB.
On Windows, actually I was playing around with that today. I put 60,000 messages that were each 100K in length. The Q file happily grew to 6GB. Later in the week on a server with more hard drive space I want to try and put 25 GB to a single queue. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 1:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
the second batch of 50 fails about halfway through |
Quote: |
EXPLANATION:
The attempt to open either the queue or queue manager object
'LQ.DWH.NLLPCP01.DATA_FMQ_AU.P' on queue manager 'NLLPCP01
à ' by user '' failed with reason code 2086. |
Are you opening the Queue for every message. You shouldn't be.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paulgroo |
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 2:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 07 Jul 2005 Posts: 138 Location: Ireland
|
No. I'm not opening to queue each time a segment is getting put onto the queue. Although I may have found a restriction with java. We're using JDK 1.3 which only supports a JVM size of 2Gb. Perhaps this is where the messages are getting corrupt?! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|