ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker (ACE) SupportSetting XML Attribute in Msg Set in MB v5 [SOLVED]

Post new topicReply to topic
Setting XML Attribute in Msg Set in MB v5 [SOLVED] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Paul D
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 1:48 pm Post subject: Setting XML Attribute in Msg Set in MB v5 [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 200
Location: Green Bay Packer Country

Is it possible to set an XML attribute in a message set? I know the ESQL method, but would rather set this in my msg set itself. I'm not mapping the value of it from anywhere, I want to assign it to this tag in the message set. My map will populate the tag value. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!!!

Paul
_________________
Thanks!!!

Paul D


Last edited by Paul D on Thu Apr 01, 2004 12:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:01 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Yeah. Assign a default value...
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wooda
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 12:08 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 21 Nov 2003
Posts: 265
Location: UK

Quote:
Yeah. Assign a default value...


Actually default and fixed values are ignored by MRM XML.
They are only inserted in fixed length formats (eg. CWF or TDS Fixed Length).
So setting the default value wont give you the behaviour you want.

I'm afraid you have to insert the values in ESQL.
(somebody please correct me if I'm wrong, but alas I think I am correct)
[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimbert
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 5542
Location: Southampton

wooda: You are correct. Default values are only applied when writing fixed-length messages.

Quote:
Is it possible to set an XML attribute in a message set?

I'm not sure I understand the question. Do you want to output a value as an XML attribute (as opposed to an XML Element)? If so, just model it as an attribute, and the MRM will write it as an attribute (assuming that you set OutputRoot.Properties.MessageType correctly, of course).

Or do you want the MRM to assign a value to an attribute automatically (i.e. a default value)? If so, note the previous post by wooda.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 6:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

kimbert wrote:
wooda: You are correct. Default values are only applied when writing fixed-length messages.




But, also, . Default values should be enforced in all domains.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul D
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 6:34 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 200
Location: Green Bay Packer Country

I'm trying to do something like this.

Sample XML Tag with attribute
<MsgProtocolVersionNum nml-length='3'>001</MsgProtocolVersionNum>

Here's the ESQL for it:
Set OutputRoot.XML.(XML.tag)TrustPremiumTransaction.(XML.tag)MsgProtocolVersionNum.(XML.attr)"nml-length" = '3';

I want the MRM to default the nml-length attribute for me.
_________________
Thanks!!!

Paul D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Paul D
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 12:23 pm Post subject: Setting XML Attribute in Msg Set in MB v5 [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 200
Location: Green Bay Packer Country

Got the solution

Example

<?xml version="1.0">
<SomeRequestMsg xx-type="Structure" xx-version="001">
<MsgProtocol>SCIP</MsgProtocol>
<MsgProtocolVersionNum>001</MsgProtocolVersionNum>
....


Setting XML Attributes in the Msg Set Definition
1 - Open the mxsd editor for the Msg Set.
2 - Right Click on an element and do a “Add Local Attribute”
3 - Enter the name, such as xx-type in to create it.
4 - To default the value of it, highlight it, then click on the properties tab at the bottom of the window. On the right under details, set the default to the value to default this to, such as "Structure".
5 - Repeat steps for the second attribute.
_________________
Thanks!!!

Paul D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 12:32 pm Post subject: Re: Setting XML Attribute in Msg Set in MB v5 [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Paul Dix wrote:
Got the solution


Have you verified that this value is actually populated when the XML is written to a queue?

If that's true, then it contradicts what Kimbert and wooda have said.

But they may have been talking about v2.1, and if you're talking about .mxsd files, then you are talking about v5.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul D
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 12:46 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 200
Location: Green Bay Packer Country

I'm in the middle of testing this, so I didn't actually see it yet. I talked to IBM support and got this solution. I asked specifically if this was available in 2.1 and they said yes. I didn't ask specifically how to set in under 2.1's MRM editor though.
_________________
Thanks!!!

Paul D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
wooda
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 12:10 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 21 Nov 2003
Posts: 265
Location: UK

Paul -

Please let us know your findings.

But I can predict now that the attributes will not be populated with default values even in v5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul D
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 5:57 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 200
Location: Green Bay Packer Country

The developers from the project I support solved it this way:

We added these local attributes and since we are using a mapper node, we just set the attribute for nml-length by creating a one sided mapping to the appropriate value.

They did test this and it works fine. I'm in the middle of other more pressing issues, so I have not confirmed my default method yet.
_________________
Thanks!!!

Paul D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker (ACE) SupportSetting XML Attribute in Msg Set in MB v5 [SOLVED]
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.