Author |
Message
|
kt76 |
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 1:46 am Post subject: Dequeued??? |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 18 Jan 2004 Posts: 52
|
I am getting the following error on my development environment, whereas this works on a local env.
"Node 'TestOutput' has received a message which has previously been backed out because of a processing error in the message flow. The MQMD 'backoutCount' of the message exceeds (or equals) the 'backoutThreshold' defined for the WebSphere Business Integration input queue. The message broker is propagating the message to the failure terminal of the node.
Examine the other messages and the message flow to determine why the message is being backed out. Correct this situation if possible. Perform any local error recovery processing required.
2004-03-30 16:47:29.634519 5141 "
Has anyone faced this .. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Please "Examine the other messages" in your system log. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kt76 |
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 18 Jan 2004 Posts: 52
|
There is nothing in other messages as far as the trace is concerned. What does backout count threshold mean? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wooda |
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 Nov 2003 Posts: 265 Location: UK
|
The backout count is the number of times the consuming application (in this case the message flow) has backed out an MQGET of a message off a queue.
ie. the flow is repeatedly failing to process a message and backing it out on to the input queue when it fails as presumably the flow has not been designed to handle exceptions.
Therefore this message is the symptom of some other failure in the flow.
You need to diagnose what that other error is hence Jeff's question.
Do a user trace of the flow and look for other problems. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kt76 |
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 18 Jan 2004 Posts: 52
|
My logic is such that-
I am waiting for 2 messages in my flow. When the first arrives I update the db and Return false in my compute node.
When the second arrives, I should proceed.
What happens when I do a Return False. Does the message coming in be sent to a DLQ or backout queue since there is a Return False. COuld this have reached a threshold limit. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
kt76 wrote: |
I am waiting for 2 messages in my flow |
You can't do that unless you are using the Aggregation nodes.
kt76 wrote: |
What happens when I do a Return False. |
The message flow ends in an error state, which causes your transaction to be backed out.
Which causes your message to get backed out, and eventually rolled over to the Backout Queue.
So, you're generating your error message yourself. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wooda |
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 Nov 2003 Posts: 265 Location: UK
|
Hi kt76 -
What version are you using?
In v5 Return False in a compute node main module will not cause an exception to be thrown but will merely cause the message not to be propagated. Which I think is what you want to do.
I assume when you say
Quote: |
I am waiting for 2 messages in my flow |
that you mean you wish you flow to process a message in two different ways depending on whether a previous instance of the flow had updated your database with the first message of the pair. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Return false works the same way in 2.1. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kt76 |
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 18 Jan 2004 Posts: 52
|
Thats correct. I am using V5. It works on my local env, and there is no transaction rollback that happens when i do Return False.
However in the clients dev env, this is causing a problem. Any clues?? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wooda |
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 Nov 2003 Posts: 265 Location: UK
|
Is this the exact same bar file that is being deployed to both brokers ?
Are the input node and compute node settings the same ?
Specificaly are the Transaction Mode/Transaction settings the same ?
Are both flows taking the same input message ?
Are both input messages persistent ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|