Author |
Message
|
workflowdude |
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2004 4:46 pm Post subject: Updating the Global Data Container |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 17 Nov 2003 Posts: 24 Location: US
|
I am trying to update a GDC variable using the WorkFlow API.
Here;s the code
ReadOnlyContainer roc=<ProcessInstanceobject>.globalContainer();
ReadWriteContainer rwc=roc.asReadWriteContainer();
rwc.setString("owner","workflowdude");
But this value is not updated in the Database.
If I map the GDC to an activity in my process and have the variable "owner" mapped to some variable in the activity container, I can see the value in the Database.
What am i doing wrong? I am sure you can update the GDC through API.
I am using Workflow 3.4 SP4.
Thanks in advance for your help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2004 5:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Global Container can not be updated via any API... Updates are made via mapping from an activity to the GDC. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
workflowdude |
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2004 5:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 17 Nov 2003 Posts: 24 Location: US
|
Well, there is an API to retrieve it and there is no exception thrown when we try to update it..
any clues? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2004 5:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
You can either believe what I have said or continue to try.... If you are successful please let us know how you did it. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sshaker |
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2004 6:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 20 Sep 2002 Posts: 185
|
As GDC concept is evolving we can expect more things to happen in future versions. _________________ shaker |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|