Author |
Message
|
sebastian |
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 7:21 am Post subject: [Solved] Getting a Perl script to use MQSeries |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 110 Location: Philadelphia
|
Dear Experts:
I am trying to run a Perl script on Windows that accesses MQSeries message queues. I know that I need to install:
1) Perl interpreter(done)
2) MQ client(done)
3) Perl MQ module (not done)
I am having problems with the MA89 supportpac install. I downloaded everything and followed the instructions but there are four commands and the last 3 are not recognized:
perl Makefile.PL (makes sense, copies files & such)
make (command not recognized)
make test (command not recognized)
make install (command not recognized)
Has anyone used Perl with MQ on windows? Any feedback is greatly appreciated.
thanks,
Seb _________________ sebastian signature |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 8:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Well to compile for windows you need Microsoft Visual C compiler with
nmake.exe , you can problay get all the gcc tools and modify the makefile
to use gcc _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 5:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Seb,
Those commands are for installing the perl module on a unix system. As Jeff said, you'll need a windows C compiler. I have personally used gcc in the past to build this module for windows. You can get it from www.gnu.org _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastian |
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 4:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 110 Location: Philadelphia
|
I am still very confused on how to establish my MQ environment on WIndows. I went to the link you suggested but I do not know what 'gcc' means and could not find it there. If I did find something that was a C compiler, I still do not know what I should compile in C from the installation pac. THe installation instructions did not mention anything about this. To complicate things, it sounds like the instructions think I am installing may be for Unix even though they specifically said 'to load on windows.'
Has anyone out there created an MQ environment for Perl on windows before? I could really use some help.
Seb _________________ sebastian signature |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Nathan |
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 5:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 15 Sep 2003 Posts: 52 Location: Rochester, NY
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastian |
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 110 Location: Philadelphia
|
I went to the site to download gcc. I think it was the 'gcc-3.3.2.tar.gz' file.
The unzip forced me to load this to a TEMP file on my c: drive. There is no readme or install document attached. I will dig some more on the initial download page but I am struggling with the install of this. Any help out there would be greatly appreciated.
getting frustrated,
Seb
 _________________ sebastian signature |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Do you have access to Microsoft Visual C compiler anywhere ????
1) If so either install MQSeries Client or Server on that PC
and install perl also.
2) Get latest MQSeries Perl Module from CPAN
3) expand it into a dir
4) start a command prompt and goto the root dir of the MQSeries Perl
module
5) perl Makefile.pl
6) nmake
7) nmake test
nmake install
9) zip up your perl dir c:\perl
10) move it to the system you want to use it
11) unzip. _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastian |
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 7:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 110 Location: Philadelphia
|
Jeff:
Thanks for the input...
I think I might have the Microsoft Visual C compiler on another laptop that has visual studio. I believe it's included with the tool suite of VB6, foxpro etc...
I will try your suggestion.
 _________________ sebastian signature |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastian |
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 7:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 110 Location: Philadelphia
|
Still having problem with this....
I installed the perl interpreter, MQ client and MQ perl modules in MA89 on another laptop that has Microsoft Visual studio on it. I ran the "perl Makefile.PL" step but the instructions I have say to check for files ending with the extenstions: .xs, .c, .h, .y, .cc, .cxx, and .C. There are about 20 of these. When I try to view them from the C++ application, it does not recognize the files.
the next step is to run the "make" command and it is not recognized. Another section of the instructions say to substitute whatever "perl -V:make" says. When I type this, I get the message make='nmake'; but this is also not recognized.
The next thing I was going to try was making copies of all the downloaded files with the above extensions and see if a colleague can compile them.
Any suggestion here are greatly appreciated. This is getting frustrating.
Seb _________________ sebastian signature |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 7:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
the nmake command should be part of the MS VC compiler, you may not be pathed to it. Search for nmake.exe . _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastian |
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 110 Location: Philadelphia
|
jeff:
I did find the nmake.exe in path
c:\program files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\Bin
I typed 'nmake' and got the message 'fatal error U1064:MAKEFILE not found and no target specified Stop."
Do I need to move my downloaded MA89 modules to this bin directory? It seems as though the nmake.exe is looking for a parameter to act upon.
any help is greatly appreciated,
Seb _________________ sebastian signature |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Go to the directroy where MQSeries module is installed (where makefile.pl is)
and execute this
c:\program files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\Bin\nmake _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastian |
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 110 Location: Philadelphia
|
Jeff:
Sorry to seem a bit lost here (see my newbie tag) but what would be the snytax to execute this once I am in the correct directory? I know how to execute .exe in the same directory by just typing its name. When I try using the full path with the nmake.exe, the command line interpreter sees c:program files\ as unrecognizable.
your patience is appreciated,
Seb _________________ sebastian signature |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 10:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
include the quotes
"c:\program files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\Bin\nmake" _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastian |
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 11:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 110 Location: Philadelphia
|
Jeff:
I tried this an received the error message "NMAKE : fatal error U1064: MAKEFILE not found and no target specified Stop."
I also tried copying the makefile.exe to the folder holding my download data and running it there with the same results.
Does the nmake command possibly need another variable in the execution command like maybe..
nmake DeadLetter.xs
to specify the target file?
as always, any feedback is greatly appreciated,
Seb _________________ sebastian signature |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|