|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
TRIM function |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Meow |
Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2003 6:32 am Post subject: TRIM function |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 25 Jun 2003 Posts: 95
|
Hi All,
I get this
<node>EMPLOYEE NUMBER</node>
and i want to arrive at EMPLOYEENUMBER. so i tried TRIM function
syntax: TRIM(' ' FROM 'EMPLOYEE NUMBER') this statement still gives me "EMPLOYEE NUMBER".
can you guide me how to achieve "EMPLOYEENUMBER"
I am sure that we can use the POSITION and SUBSTRING functions to achieve that. just checking if some one knows a simple logic than that.
I really appreciate the organizers and the participating people for their help.
Thanks,
Paruvan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2003 6:44 am Post subject: Re: TRIM function |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Trim only removes LEADING, TRAILING, or LEADING AND TRAILING spaces, not Interior spaces.
So if you had " EMPLOYEE NUMBER", "EMPLOYEE NUMBER " or " EMPLOYEE NUMBER ", then trim could turn those into "EMPLOYEE NUMBER" but not "EMPLOYEENUMBER".
You'll have to use Position and Substring. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2003 9:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
If you are on V5, there are new string functions that could help here, such as REPLACE.
Cheers,
MGK _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2003 9:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
mgk wrote: |
If you are on V5, there are new string functions that could help here, such as REPLACE.
|
Thanks!!!!
Is there a String->"list" or "list"->String function pair (ala Split/join in Perl), too? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2003 1:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
Hi Jeff.
There is no exact equivalent of this. If yoou think this would be very useful please let me know.
For the record, the string enhancements in V5 are:
LEFT Truncates a string preserving from the start
POSITION Extended. Now has repeat, index & direction
REPLICATE Repeats a string 'n' times
REPLACE Transforms strings within a string
RIGHT Truncates a string preserving from the end
SPACE Repeats blank. This is a short form of REPLICATE(' ', ...)
TRANSLATE Translates multiple single characters in a string _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2003 5:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
mgk wrote: |
Hi Jeff.
There is no exact equivalent of this. If yoou think this would be very useful please let me know. |
Here's a real world example where it might be useful. We have to exchange data with certain customers using a standard file format that includes packed decimals. This means that (at least in 2.1), we have to model the data using CWF (since TDS doesn't seem to support packed decimals). However, the file includes repeating elements for which there are no predefined counts - which is not supported with CWF. So we created our own count fields for the various levels of repeat, and are stripping them out after conversion to a BLOB field. To make it easier to identify the "private" count fields, we created tags to wrap them.
Being able to "split" the BLOB at our tags, and then "join" back together the appropriate elements would make for a cleaner code than the POSITION/SUBSTRING/concat code we have now.
Similarly, it might come in handy to build the counts for an incoming file, as we could split on the record indicators, and then count the elements in the list.
mgk wrote: |
For the record, the string enhancements in V5 are:
LEFT Truncates a string preserving from the start
POSITION Extended. Now has repeat, index & direction
REPLICATE Repeats a string 'n' times
REPLACE Transforms strings within a string
RIGHT Truncates a string preserving from the end
SPACE Repeats blank. This is a short form of REPLICATE(' ', ...)
TRANSLATE Translates multiple single characters in a string |
That extended position is sweet. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|