|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
How to sepecify the remote queue name from a Client ? |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
philosophil |
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2002 11:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Jan 2002 Posts: 1
|
I'm using the COM interface to MQSeries.
I need to provide the Manager Name. On the command line, doing
set MQSERVER=C1/TCP/remote(1414)
amqsputc Q1 queue1
will work properly (I set up a local queue named queue1 as per the validation section of the Client book instruction).
From the COM object, doing something like
manager = (MQQueueManager)session.AccessQueueManager("queue1");
doesn't work. It gives me an error 2058
I tried different methods, and I get the same error
C1/TCP/remote(1414)/queue1
or other stuff like it. What is the proper format to access a remote queue from a Client machine on which there is NO server installed.
Every example I see assume that the server is installed. I don't have a server installed on my client machine. I just want to connect. I hope someone had the same problem.
Thanks for any help.
Phil
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2002 2:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Phil,
I'm not familiar with COM objects (I wouldn't know one if it hit me over the head), but I would have thought that the AccessQueueManager method would take the name of a Queue Manager, not the Queue name.
Following that you would probably use an AccessQueue method.
Cheers,
_________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
StefanSievert |
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2002 2:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 28 Oct 2001 Posts: 333 Location: San Francisco
|
Eddie,
I guess you fell into the same trap than I did when reading the post first. From the lines
>set MQSERVER=C1/TCP/remote(1414)
>amqsputc Q1 queue1
I am assuming that the queue is named 'Q1' and the queue manager is actually named 'queue1'.
Phil,
can you please confirm this assumption? There are (at the very least) two good practices for naming MQSeries objects you might want to follow:
1) give objects meaningful names and
2) always use upper-case names
For example, name your queue somehting like MY.TEST.Q and your queue manager QMTEST or TESTQM or DEVQM. Naming conventions are purely philosophical, there is no right or wrong, but some conventions help a lot during problem resolution.
I have never used the COM classes, but I'll put out three questions:
1) Will the COM classes pick up the environment variable? (Have you rebooted after setting MQSERVER?)
2) Is it possible, that you have to use the MQCNO structure in the ConnectOptions for a client connect, as you can do in Java/C++?
3) In your COM application, have you checked that you have spelled the queue and queue manager name EXACTLY as you have defined it (upper/lower case)?
Maybe somebody out there has a bit more experience with COM than I have.
Good luck,
Stefan
_________________
Stefan Sievert
IBM Certified * MQSeries
[ This Message was edited by: StefanSievert on 2002-01-10 15:01 ]
[ This Message was edited by: StefanSievert on 2002-01-10 15:01 ] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2002 11:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Stefan,
Dooooooohhhh. I think it's time I made the appointment with the optician that I've been putting off.
Cheers,
_________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|